David Bowie / Worn Out Rag Doll 1987/ 2CD

David Bowie / Worn Out Rag Doll 1987 / 2CD / Helden

Translated Text:
Sydney Entertainment Centre, November 3, 1987.Digitally Remastered



Click Image To Enlarge


From Bowie specialty label HELDEN, title was recorded Sydney performances November 3, 1987 by the sound board will be release. Reversal from the 1970s the late heavy dark works were many, 80s works of bright airy atmosphere continues, a new ground of Bowie was also the era that flowering. For fans of the old “Let’s Dance” and “Tonight”, and “Never Let Me Down” brighter Dansanburu such, but was the place where the big change works of the conventional image evaluation is divided, at least commercially The success surpassing the 70’s, to, for a worldwide reputation as an artist has been established is also probably the 80s. In this era, twice large-scale world tour has been organized. This work than GLASS SPIDER TOUR made after 1987 “Never Let Me Down” release, will result in a complete recording of the title by the sound board the Sydney performances November 3, 1987.

In the theatrical stage elements were incorporated Maybe true value of Bowie, simply without having to stay in music, is a great live that draws a large crowd around the world the entire stage as one of the works in “the world.” “Purple smoke” in the orchestral version flowing to the venue before the curtain, and the spark from Bowie of narration opening. Stage, which is organized around the recent song to active duty feeling crisp is something wonderful that is felt dignity of mature rock star. And it can not became a tour title in the “Glass Spider” is “Up The Hill Backwards” are granted to Reprise, the arrangement also will that can enjoy the varied considerably live unique. Too beautiful “Loving The Alien” is a live version that it is again classic is caused to re-recognition. Bowie singing of course, elegant and aesthetic atmosphere with the song itself, it seems that how to wrap a big venue floating in the eye.

“All The Madmen” is a song that has been recorded in the “man who sold the world” the early ’70s, but here dramatically changed the arrangements in, we are reborn to the music that has a light and complex rhythms. Such Fu 80s keyboard is taken into account, funk of the original song is none. It is a place it is interesting has become the fashionable dance number. This “Big Brother” is similar, significantly arrangement is changed, again’re accented keyboard. And is inserted drum solo in the middle part, it has become a fairly long songs, we are connected by a medley as it is “87 & Cry”. Further attention will be like a point in the 1978 tour you’re playing did not live playing “Sons Of The Silent Age” in live. “The Jean Genie” is a popular number as one of the Bowie classic, but it is surprised here appeared the melody of what Stones “Satisfaction” in the Middle.

This work, Glass Spider Tour final of the earth Australia than the same venue eight consecutive performances in Sydney, is a feature that has been recorded live on November 3 in the official class of ultra-high-quality stereo sound board . Although you have been on DVD in the hybrid of the 7th and the 9th from the same tour, performances of this three days not been used at all, it can be heard thus completely in fresh outflow sound board, exactly collector It is a lucky unique. For sound quality anyway, so no more such is the best thing, I think you’ll confirm all means in the sample.

From Bowie of the 1987 Glass Spider Tour, recorded the November 3 Sydney performances of the finest of sound board. Permanent Athletic Press board of beautiful picture disc specification.

ボウイ専門レーベルHELDENより、1987年11月3日シドニー公演をサウンドボードで収録したタイトルがリリースになります。重く暗い作品が多かった70年代末期から一転、80年代は明るく軽やかな雰囲気の作品が続く、ボウイの新境地が開花した時代でもありました。古くからのファンにとっては『レッツ・ダンス』や『トゥナイト』、そして『ネヴァー・レット・ミー・ダウン』といった明るくダンサンブルな、従来のイメージを大きく変える作品群に評価がわかれるところでしたが、少なくとも商業的には70年代を凌ぐ成功を収め、アーティストとして世界的な名声が確立されたのも80年代と言えるでしょう。そんな時代に、2度の大規模なワールドツアーが組まれました。本作は1987年「ネヴァー・レット・ミー・ダウン」リリース後に行なわれたGLASS SPIDER TOURより、1987年11月3日シドニー公演をサウンドボードで完全収録したタイトルになります。

多分に演劇的な要素が組み入れられたステージはボウイの真骨頂で、単に音楽にとどまることなく、ステージ全体がひとつの作品として世界中の大観衆を「その世界」に引き込んだ素晴らしいライヴです。開演前に会場に流れるオーケストラ・バージョンの「紫のけむり」、そしてボウイのナレーションからスパークするオープニング。現役感バリバリに近年の曲を中心に構成されたステージは、成熟したロックスターの貫禄が感じられる素晴らしいものです。ツアータイトルとなった「Glass Spider」には「Up The Hill Backwards」がリプライズ的に付与されていたりと、アレンジも大幅に変えられライヴならではの楽しみ方が出来ることでしょう。あまりに美しい「Loving The Alien」は、改めて名曲であることが再認識させられるライヴ・バージョンです。ボウイの歌唱はもちろん、曲そのものが持つ上品かつ耽美的な雰囲気が、大きく会場を包む様子が目に浮かぶようです。

「All The Madmen」は70年代初頭『世界を売った男』に収録されていた曲ですが、ここでは大幅にアレンジを変え、軽快で複雑なリズムを持つ楽曲に生まれ変わっています。80年代ふうなキーボードが加味され、原曲の泥臭さが皆無。ファッショナブルなダンスナンバーになっているのが面白いところです。これは「Big Brother」も同様で、大幅にアレンジが変えられ、ここでもアクセントをつけているのはキーボード。そしてミドルパートにドラムソロが挿入され、かなり長大な曲になっており、そのまま「87 & Cry」にメドレーで繋がっています。さらに注目は1978年ツアーではライヴ演奏されなかった「Sons Of The Silent Age」をライヴで演奏している点などが挙げられます。「The Jean Genie」はボウイ・クラシックのひとつとして人気が高いナンバーですが、ここではミドルになんとストーンズ「サティスファクション」のメロディが登場して驚かされます。




01. Purple Haze
02. Intro
03. Up The Hill Backwards
04. Glass Spider
05. Day In Day Out
06. Bang Bang
07. Absolute Beginners
08. Loving The Alien
09. China Girl
10. Rebel Rebel
11. Fashion
12. Scary Monsters
13. All The Madmen
14. Never Let Me Down

01. Big Brother
02. 87 & Cry
03. Heroes
04. Sons Of The Silent Age
05. Time Will Crawl
06. Band Introduction
07. Young Americans
08. The Jean Genie
09. Let’s Dance
10. Fame
11. Time
12. Blue Jean
13. Modern love
Helden. Den-029/030

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.