Black Sabbath / Headless Smoke / 2CDR

Black Sabbath / Headless Smoke / 2CDR / Non Label

Translated text:

Live At Colston Hall, UK 11th September 1989.

Click Image To Enlarge

From the end of August 1989, SABBATH, which began his English tour with the release of “HEADLESS CROSS”, two successive performances at London ‘Hammer Smith Odeon’ on September 9th and 10th, which became the biggest highlight, also enjoyed a great success And finish the tour on Bristol “Colston Hall” on the 11th the next day.
As reflected in the fulfilling band state, this “HEADLESS CROSS” UK tour has many elements of surprise and QUEEN’s Brian May appeared in Angkor on the 10th day of the previous day (Hammer Smith 2nd day) I will. And this last day · Surprise of Bristol performances is the appearance of Ian · Guillain mentioned above. In this recording, from the opening “Headless Cross” to “Chidren Of The Grave”, packed the venue’s enthusiasm and the band’s performance firmly. Although it is a sound image which feels a slight distance between the stage and the taper, the clean sound image and the high stability feeling supported by the goodness of freshness are wonderful, and it is possible to listen to the pattern of the live without stress.

The flow from opening with majestic “Headless Cross” to the speedy “Neon Knights”, and the melodic “Children Of The Sea” continued to follow the development of the live ’80’ s when Ronie entered the band It is a configuration that leads to tours. However, “HEADLESS CROSS” lineup consisting of Iomi, Martin, and Cozy is more spectacular for songs such as “Die Young” and “The Shining”, tailored songs in the Ozzie era dramatically, such as “War Pigs” and “Iron Man” , SABBATH seems to be after the ’80s and gives further depth to heavy and melodic sound. In addition to the excellent performance that IOMI and Martin are attracted to, the cozy and Neil rhythm sections show exquisite combinations and listeners will be able to enjoy exciting performances in any song. Ironi ‘s speedy solo that I can listen with Encore’ s “Heaven And Hell” ending is very thrilling.
After playing “Heaven And Hell”, when Ian Gillan appears with riffs of “Smoke On The Water” reverberating without giving a haircut, the audience shows the most exciting day of the day. Iomi also shows Giran and his breath-taking play, so here you should be able to realize the good compatibility of both. Cozy is also a powerful play and adds a new interpretation to this super famous song (his play will be interesting compared to take in “FORCEFIELD”). Although the combination of Guillain and Koji is “I do not seem to be likely” until now, their compatibility seems to be good. Martin joins “Paranoid” and concludes with a duet with Guillain. Guillain ‘s singing style rooted in rock’ n ‘roll shows its real value with this song, showing the presence surpassing Martin from the shout at the beginning.

The sound source Ian Gillan participated in the live of SABBATH is only two performances in ’99, except for the “BORN AGAIN” tour. (Another collaborative sound source can be listened to on the press board “RUNIC ECHOES” which included the Copenhagen performance on September 15, 1989.) For everyone in the SABBATH history, enjoy this special opportunity especially for the special live. I would like to receive it!

★ One piece that Ian Gillan can listen to “Smoke On The Water”, “Paranoid” by participating in the guest. (The collaboration between Sabbath and Guillain was the first time since March, this day has been in about 5 and a half years, cozy and guillan co – star for the first time). Also listen to “Cookey’s beating” Smoke On The Water “!

1989年8月末から「HEADLESS CROSS」リリースに伴うイギリスツアーを開始したSABBATHは、最大のハイライトになった9月9日と10日のロンドン”ハマースミス・オデオン”における2連続公演も盛況のうちに終了し、翌11日のブリストル”コルストン・ホール”でツアー最終日を迎えます。
充実していたバンド状態を反映するように、この「HEADLESS CROSS」イギリスツアーにはサプライズの要素も多く、前日の10日(ハマースミス2日目)はQUEENのブライアン・メイがアンコールに登場しています。そしてこの最終日・ブリストル公演のサプライズが、前述したイアン・ギランの登場なのです。本録音ではオープニングの「Headless Cross」から「Chidren Of The Grave」に至るまで、会場の熱気とバンドの演奏をしっかりとパッケージ。若干ステージとテーパーの距離を感じる音像ではありますが、鮮度の良さに裏付けられたすっきりした音像と高い安定感は素晴らしく、ライヴの模様をストレス無く聴き込む事ができます。

威厳に満ちた「Headless Cross」でのオープニングからスピーディな「Neon Knights」への流れ、そしてメロディアスな「Children Of The Sea」が続くというライヴの展開は、ロニーがバンドに入った’80年のツアーに通じる構成です。しかしアイオミ,マーティン,コージーからなる「HEADLESS CROSS」ラインナップは、「Die Young」・「The Shining」といった曲はより壮大に、「War Pigs」や「Iron Man」などオジー時代の曲はドラマティックに仕立てあげ、’80年代以降のSABBATHらしいヘヴィかつメロディセンスに富んだサウンドへ、さらなる奥行きを与えています。アイオミとマーティンが魅せる優れたパフォーマンスに加え、コージーとニールのリズムセクションは絶妙なコンビネーションを発揮し、聴き手はどの曲でもエキサイティングな演奏を堪能できるでしょう。アンコールの「Heaven And Hell」エンディングで聴けるアイオミのスピード感あるソロは大変にスリリングです。
この「Heaven And Hell」の演奏後、間髪入れずに響き渡る「Smoke On The Water」のリフと共にイアン・ギランが現われると、オーディエンスはこの日一番の盛り上がり見せます。アイオミはギランとも息の合ったプレイを披露しており、ここでは両者の好相性を改めて実感できるはず。コージーもパワフルなプレイでこの超有名曲に新たな解釈を加えています(彼のプレイは「FORCEFIELD」におけるテイクと比較しても面白いでしょう)。ギランとコージーの組み合わせは今まで「有りそうで無かった」顔合わせですが、彼らの相性も良いようです。「Paranoid」はマーティンも加わり、ギランとのデュエットで締めくくります。ロックンロールに根ざしたギランの歌唱スタイルはこの曲で真価を発揮しており、冒頭のシャウトからマーティンを凌ぐ存在感を示しています。

SABBATHのライヴでイアン・ギランが参加した音源は、「BORN AGAIN」ツアーを除けばこの’89年の2公演のみ。(もう一つの共演音源は89年9月15日コペンハーゲン公演を収録したプレス盤「RUNIC ECHOES」で聴けます。)ファンの皆さんには、SABBATH史上でも特にスペシャルなライヴを、この機会にぜひお楽しみ頂きたいと思います!

★イアン・ギランがゲスト参加しての「Smoke On The Water」、「Paranoid」が聴ける一枚。(サバスとギランの共演は’84年3月以来、この日が約5年半ぶり。コージーとギランの共演は初)。コージーの叩く「Smoke On The Water」も必聴!

Disc 1
1. Ave Satani/The Gates Of Hell 2. Headless Cross 3. Neon Knights 4. Children Of The Sea
5. Die Young 6. When Death Calls 7. War Pigs 8. The Shining 9. The Mob Rules

Disc 2
1. Guitar Intro/Black Sabbath 2. Devil & Daughter 3. Iron Man 4. Children Of The Grave
5. Heaven And Hell 6. Smoke On The Water feat. Ian Gillan on Vocals
7. Paranoid feat. Ian Gillan & Tony Martin on Vocals

Tony Iommi – Guitars Tony Martin – Vocals Cozy Powell – Drums Neil Murray – Bass
Geoff Nicholls – Keyboards

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.