Jeff Beck / Flash Outtakes Multi Track Master / 2CD

Jeff Beck / Flash Outtakes Multi Track Master / 2CD / Wardour

Power Station Studios, NYC 1984 STEREO SBD


Play sample :

Click Image To Enlarge

“FLASH” is an ambitious work that challenged the song after a long time with Nile Rodgers as the producer. The superb outtake master is newly excavated. An urgent release is decided with the permanent storage press 2CD.

[A completely different multi-track master from the previous release] Such a work contains 25 takes, about 100 minutes of super fine stereo sound board recording. This is a collection of studio outtakes underway at “POWER STATION STUDIOS” in New York in 1984. If you’re an avid collector, you might think of the nostalgic “FLASH WORKS”, but this work is another new master of excavation. It’s not that there are takes that are very similar in some songs, but the sources are completely different and the sound has been significantly upgraded.
The source is the original multitrack used in the studio. It is a 1/4 inch reel rough MIX tape produced from there → a cassette tape and a 2nd Gene Master that has been dubbed only twice. Please do not underestimate “What is the 2nd Gene?” After all, even if it is a genuine official work, it takes the stage of “multi → mix → mastering → stamper production” (this is just an example). In other words, in terms of genera, it is almost the same as the official work. In fact, the sound of this work speaks eloquently. The points of this kind of demo/outtake can be summarized in three major points: “sound”, “production stage”, and “tracks”, but the sound of this work is super beautiful. It’s a so-called “perfect official class”, but it’s more than that. There are variations in the finished version depending on the take, but if it is close to the finish version, it will be more vivid (!) than the product board. Even if the take is very similar to “FLASH WORKS”, there are no dubbing marks or tape twists, and it is a dimension that can be officially released as it is.

[A collection of hidden treasures with perfection even if mixed with a regular album] Even if the
sound is official, the contents are significantly different from the final version. The second point here is the “production stage”. There are various demo collections, from recording notes at the composition stage to mix differences looking for differences from the final board, but this work is a place like “Take difference / rough mix”. Even in the early stage, the song is firmly completed while taking a temporary take, and the one that is close to completion is also subjected to effect processing etc. (although it is different from the official take in one shot if you listen properly), it is randomly played with the final official version. There are many takes that do not feel strange. It is exactly the title “OUTTAKES”, not the “prototype” of the official board, but the “version difference”.
The third and final “recorded song”. The completed album contains a total of 9 songs, but this work has a total of 10 songs and 25 takes. There are differences in the take of the same song, and I’m curious about unreleased songs. Let’s organize the contents here.

● “FLASH” songs (6 songs, 20 takes)
, Ambitious (2 takes) / Escape (4 takes) / People Get Ready (2 takes) / Stop, Look And Listen (4 takes) / Get Workin'(3 takes) )/Night After Night (5 takes)

●Unpublished songs (4 songs, 5 takes)
・Same as the existing sound source: Jeff’s Anthem/No Filet Mignon, Just Greens/Funk On The Nail
・Others: Unreleased Track (2 takes) )

…And this is how it looks. There are 25 takes, so I won’t explain the differences one by one, but each take is awesome. Even with the major song “People Get Ready”, it took 1 take in “FLASH WORKS”, but 2 takes in this work. Besides, both can be enjoyed with Rod Stewart’s vocals. Also, again, the unreleased songs “Jeff’s Anthem”, “No Filet Mignon, Just Greens” and “Funk On The Nail” that I heard in “FLASH WORKS” also have different sounds. That’s what makes me want to add it to the final album and make it an expansion board.

The above is a collection of studio treasures with 10 songs, 25 takes, and about 100 minutes. Although the sound quality is as thin as the official album, the mix and performance are different, and there are plenty of unreleased songs. It is exactly “another FLASH”, and it should be officially released as a 3-disc deluxe edition set with the final version. A semi-official decision board so far. Please enjoy it with the permanent storage press 2CD.

★★ Official high-quality stereo sound board. Content and sound quality that are not comparable to previous works. This is amazing.

(Remastered memo)
★Only pitch adjustment and sound pressure adjustment were performed. The sound is too terrible to touch.


このような作品には、25テイク、約100分の超高音質ステレオサウンドボード録音が含まれています。 1984年にニューヨークの「POWER STATION STUDIOS」で進行中のスタジオのアウトテイクのコレクションです。熱心なコレクターなら懐かしい「FLASH WORKS」を思いつくかもしれませんが、この作品は発掘の新たな新たな達人です。一部の曲で非常に似ているテイクがあるというわけではありませんが、ソースが完全に異なり、サウンドが大幅にアップグレードされています。
ソースは、スタジオで使用されているオリジナルのマルチトラックです。そこから制作された1/4インチリールのラフMIXテープ→カセットテープと2回だけダビングされた2nd Gene Masterです。 「第2遺伝子とは」を過小評価しないでください。結局、正真正銘の公式作品であっても、「マルチ→ミックス→マスタリング→スタンパー製作」(これは一例)の段階を踏みます。つまり、属に関しては公式作品とほぼ同じです。実際、この作品の音は雄弁に語っています。このようなデモ・アウトテイクのポイントは、「音」「制作段階」「トラック」の3つに大別できますが、この作品の音は超美しいです。いわゆる「パーフェクトオフィシャルクラス」ですがそれ以上です。テイクによって仕上がりバージョンにはバリエーションがありますが、仕上がりバージョンに近いと、製品盤よりも鮮やか(!)になります。テイクが「FLASH WORKS」とよく似ていても、ダビング跡やテープのツイストがなく、そのまま正式にリリースできる次元です。

サウンドは公式であり、内容は最終バージョンと大幅に異なります。ここで2番目のポイントは「生産段階」です。作曲段階でのノートの録音から、最終盤との違いを探してミックスの違いまで様々なデモ集がありますが、この作品は「テイクの違い/ラフミックス」のようなところです。初期段階でも仮テイクを取りながらしっかりと曲が完成し、完成に近い曲もエフェクト処理などが施されています(ちゃんと聴けば正式なワンショットとは異なりますが) 、最終的な公式バージョンでランダムに再生されます。違和感のないテイクがたくさんあります。それはまさに「OUTTAKES」というタイトルであり、公式ボードの「プロトタイプ」ではなく、「バージョンの違い」です。

、アンビシャス(2テイク)/エスケープ(4テイク)/ピープルゲットレディ(2テイク)/ストップ、ルックアンドリスニング(4テイク)/ Get Workin ‘(3テイク))/ナイトアフターナイト(5テイク)


…そして、これはそれがどのように見えるかです。テイクは25種類あるので、違いを1つずつ説明することはしませんが、それぞれのテイクは素晴らしいです。メジャー曲「People Get Ready」でも「FLASH WORKS」は1テイクかかったが、今回は2テイク。また、どちらもロッド・スチュワートのボーカルで楽しめます。また、やはり「FLASH WORKS」で聴いた未発表曲「Jeff’s Anthem」「No Filet Mignon、Just Greens」「Funk On The Nail」も音が違う。それが最終アルバムに追加して、拡張ボードにしたいと思った理由です。




Disc 1 (33:32)
1. Night After Night
2. Jeff’s Anthem (Unreleased Track)
3. Get Workin’
4. Night After Night
5. Ambitious
6. Escape
7. Unreleased Track
8. Escape

Disc 2 (66:44)
1. Escape
2. People Get Ready
3. Stop, Look And Listen
4. Stop, Look And Listen
5. Night After Night
6. Stop, Look And Listen
7. Get Workin’
8. Ambitious
9. No Filet Mignon, Just Greens (Unreleased Track)
10. Unreleased Track
11. Funk On The Nail (Unreleased Track)
12. Get Workin’
13. Night After Night
14. Stop, Look And Listen
15. People Get Ready
16. Night After Night
17. Escape




Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.