Eric Clapton / Montreal 1974 / 2CD

Eric Clapton / Montreal 1974 / 2CD / Beano

Translated Text:
Live at the Forum, Montreal, QC. Canada 9th July 1974 SBD

Click Image To Enlarge

This week we will release the first publicly released treasure instrument of heavyweight tapers living in the UK! 43 years ago from now. Heavyweight offered a first generation master of the monaural sound board source of Montreal in Canada on July 9, from the national tour of this year that came back from the retirement for three years. This monaural sound board source was also recorded as a PA out at the concert venue, which was once released as a boot leg of 6CD box made in Japan called “SMILE 1974”, this time the master of heavyweight It boasts exceptional clearness and sound balance with improved sound quality as well as it (sound jump in the song of Steady Rollin ‘Man, imperfect recording of Crossroads and Blues Power is the same as before). However, the master here also had problems due to aged deterioration. The first half hitting Disc 1 was about 50% of the semitones, while Disc 2 hitting the second half was about 30% pitch of the semitones. In addition, the pitch became unstable randomly about 40 seconds from around Layla’s 2 minute time point. The master tape which can be said to be nearly random pitch misdirection, the state where the hand can not be attached, was also perfectly corrected by our professional engineer with brilliant skill. In addition, it reduced the chilling feeling that lasted for a while from the beginning of Crossroads. In addition, the sound pressure is raised as it is with high sound quality as it is for improving the power. So please be relieved. It is the main board that you can correctly understand and enjoy this Montréal performance, including those who already have a launched disc with the pitch remaining crazy. Well, let’s see how the performance of this day was positioned in this comeback year here.

· June 19, 1974, 20: Warm-up · Gig in Northern Europe for the national comeback tour
· June 28 – August 4, 1974: National Tour ← ★ Coco ★
«August 5, 1974: Release of album ‘461 OCEAN BOULEVARD’»
· August – September 1974: Recording the album “THERE’S ONE IN EVERY CROWD” in Miami
· September 28 – October 6, 1974: 2 nd National Tour
· October 31 – November 6, 1974: First Japan Tour
· November 27 – December 5, 1974: European tour

You can see that this performance was the early schedule of the Comeback National Tour from June this year. This national tour was a tour in which Clapton regained confidence to the live stage after a warmup gig and was drunk and drunk for drinking to alleviate tension, but on that day the impact on MC is somewhat felt However, overall vocals are properly taken and we are showing off precise and smooth guitar play. I can also see that confidence is bringing Layla suddenly to the song order of the beginning of the acoustic set (at that time Clapton was not aware of the popularity, importance of this song). And this later solo, followed by Have You Ever Loved A Woman play is also wonderful! Listening in this way, the solo at Presence Of The Lord which starts from the bridge part irregularly is preeminent sharpness, and the emotional solos at Little Wing also do not feel a blank of 3 years at all. Also, it is a stage that you know that Clapton of this day was quite “enthusiastic”, such as first showing live the Mean Old World jammed with Duane · Allman and Miami at “Leila Session”. The upgrade master of the high-quality performance I want to deliver also to the maniacs who were watching the already-released board from the size of the volume is the main board. This release that will be delivered as the definitive version of Montreal’s performance in 1974, which resolved a number of disadvantages included. It will be released on the limited press CD for the first time only, so please order as soon as possible.
今週は、イギリス在住の重鎮テーパーの初公開秘蔵ライブ音源をリリース致します!今から43年前。3年間のリタイアからカムバックしたこの年の全米ツアーから、7月9日のカナダ、モントリオール公演のモノラル・サウンドボードソースのファースト・ジェネレーションマスターを重鎮が提供してくれたのです。このモノラル・サウンドボードソースもコンサート会場でPAアウトとして録音されていたもので、かつて「SMILE 1974」という日本製の6CDボックスの既発ブートレッグでリリースされていたのですが、今回の重鎮マスターはそれとは同じながら音質が向上した、抜群のクリアネスとサウンドバランスを誇るものでした(Steady Rollin’ Manの曲中での音跳び、CrossroadsとBlues Powerの不完全収録は従来と同じです)。しかしながら、こちらのマスターもさすがの経年劣化により問題を抱えていました。Disc1に当たる前半部は半音の約50%、後半に当たるDisc2は半音の約30%ピッチが高かったのです。さらに、Laylaの2分時点辺りから40秒程度大きくランダムにピッチが不安定になっていました。ほぼランダムなピッチの狂いと言える、手のつけられなかった状態のマスターテープを、またまた当店のプロエンジニアが見事な手腕で完璧に修正したのです。さらに、Crossroadsの冒頭から暫く続くチリチリ感を軽減しました。また、迫力アップのために高音質はそのままに音圧を上げています。ですからどうぞご安心ください。ピッチが狂ったままの既発盤をお持ちの方も含め、本モントリオール公演を正しく把握いただき楽しんでいただけるのは本盤というわけです。さて、ここでこの日の公演がこのカムバックイヤーでどのような位置づけだったのかを見ていきましょう。

・1974年6月28日~8月4日:全米ツアー ←★ココ★
≪1974年8月5日:アルバム「461 OCEAN BOULEVARD」リリース≫
・1974年8月~9月:アルバム「THERE’S ONE IN EVERY CROWD」をマイアミにてレコーディング

本公演がこの年6月からのカムバック全米ツアーの序盤の日程であったことがお判りいただけるでしょう。この全米ツアーは、ウォームアップギグを経て、ライブステージへの自信を取り戻したクラプトンが、緊張を緩和するために酒に酔っ払って敢行したツアーでしたが、この日はMCにその影響は多少感じられるものの、総じてボーカルもきちんと取り、的確で滑らかなギタープレイを披露しています。その自信のほどは、序盤のアコースティック・セット明けのソングオーダーにいきなりLaylaをもって来ていることでも窺えます(当時のクラプトンはこの曲の人気度、重要度に気づいていませんでした)。そしてこの後奏のソロ、続くHave You Ever Loved A Womanでのプレイがまた素晴らしい!こうして聴いていくと、変則的にブリッジ部から始まるPresence Of The Lordでのソロも切れ味抜群ですし、Little Wingでのエモーショナルなソロも3年のブランクをまったく感じさせないものです。また、「レイラ・セッション」でデュエイン・オールマンとマイアミでジャムったMean Old Worldをライブで初披露するなど、この日のクラプトンがなかなか「気合が入っていた」ことが分かるステージなのです。ボリュームの大きさから既発盤を見送っていたマニアの方々にもお届けしたい良質公演のアップグレードマスターが本盤です。内包されていた数々の欠点をも解消した74年モントリオール公演の決定版としてお届けする今回のリリース。初回のみの限定プレスCDでのリリースとなりますので、お早めのオーダーをお願い致します。

Disc 1 (45:43)
1. Intro. 2. Smile 3. Easy Now 4. Let It Grow 5. Layla 6. Have You Ever Loved A Woman
7. Let It Rain 8. Willie And The Hand Jive 9. Get Ready

Disc:2 (47:34)
1. Presence Of The Lord 2. Badge 3. Steady Rollin’ Man 4. Crossroads 5. Mean Old World
6. Little Wing 7. Little Queenie 8. Blues Power

Eric Clapton – Guitar, Vocals George Terry – Guitar Dicks Sims – Keyboards
Carl Radle – Bass Jamie Oldaker – Drums Yvonne Elliman – Backing Vocals



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.