Yardbirds / Four Live Yardbirds / 2CDR

Yardbirds / Four Live Yardbirds / 2CDR / Uxbridge

Shrine Auditorium,Los Angeles,CA,USA 31st May & 01st June 1968

Play sample :

Click Image To Enlarge

The Yardbirds’ last North American tour began on March 28, 1968 in New York with a Schenectady aerodrome performance and ended on June 5 in Montgomery with the Montgomery International Speedway performance in Alabama. Los Angeles, CA, which took place on May 31st and June 1st at the end of the tour, recorded the audience for the Shrine Explosion Hall performance and was released on the Uxbridge label around the end of 2009. Four Live Yardbirds (Uxbridge 165) ”.
This sound source is a record of the performance just before The Yardbirds disappeared, and three months later, on September 7, Denmark will start the Scandinavian tour starting with the Bronby Pop Club performance in Copenhagen. Although the band name is called The Yardbirds, it is actually Led Zeppelin, so it is a sound source of an interesting period.

The May 31st performance recorded on the first piece has a better balance than expected for each part, although the sound image is far away, and the June 1st performance recorded on the second piece is the same as the previous day. Although the sound image is far away, it is a well-balanced audience recording.
Considering the age of recording, it can be said that the sound quality is sufficiently high.
Starting with “Train Kept A Rollin'”, it is already an arrangement that makes you feel the early Led Zeppelin.

In the manufacturer information
Includes a take that is said to have digitized the 2nd Gen tape that appeared via the net at the Los Angeles performances on May 31st and June 1st, which are famous as the sound source of the end of The Yardbirds.
This is the original take of the source used in the 3-disc analog bootleg released around 1980. The May 31 performance take is 14 songs, about 80 minutes long, and the June 1st take is 9 songs, 49 minutes long.
Jimmy Page’s guitar is recorded with a loud sound throughout the whole volume, and you can enjoy the performance unique to this period that makes full use of the sound and playing style full of originality in all songs. All of the solo play in each song is a listening place, and you can listen to an energetic long solo with a mood that is reminiscent of the Zeppelin period.
The opening is Train Kept A Rollin’in both shows, and you can listen to the lively performance from the beginning. Keith Relf’s tasty and soft vocals are also clearly recorded, and the combination with Jimmy’s play that can be heard in each song is also a listening place. Heart Full Of Soul, Shapes Of Things, I’m A Man, Happenings Ten Years Time Ago, Dazed And Confused, which is an important repertoire even in the Zeppelin era, White Summer with sitar playing, How May More Times Full of listening places such as Omoto Smokestack Lightning.
Considering the times, you can touch the precious last performance of The Yardbirds with a sound that you can fully listen to.

★ This is a review summary of beatleg magazine vol.115 (February 2010 issue). For your reference.
Includes two performances of The Yardbirds at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles on May 31st and June 1st, 1968 when Jimmy Page was enrolled.
It has been booted under the title of “Last Rave-Up In LA” since the analog era, and there is “Last Rave-Up In LA (GTD-017)” by Goldstone as a CD that is not an analog drop, but it is on the analog board. There is a fatal flaw that the recorded “White Summer” is completely missing. The “White Summer” is also recorded properly here, and finally one title is enough.
It is based on the one uploaded on the net in November 2009, but according to the information attached to that folder, the 2nd Gene tape is the master. Compared to “Last Rave-Up In LA (GTD-017)”, the sound quality is not dramatically improved in both performances, but by mastering the uploaded one, the outline of the sound becomes clear. And, both “Last Rave-Up In LA (GTD-017)” and the uploaded one have a slightly slower tape speed and a lower pitch, but they have also been fixed properly, so throughout. The big point is that the content is suitable for viewing.
The Yardbirds disappeared a month later, and two months later Led Zeppelin was born to tour Scandinavia as the New Yardbirds, but only with “The Train Kept A-Rollin'” and “Dazed And Confused”. It’s really important for Zeppelin enthusiasts, as it’s packed with very interesting performances such as “Smokestack Lightning” and “New York City Blues”, which are like the mothers of “How Many More Times” and “You Shook Me” respectively. There is no doubt that it is a sound source. 』


ヤードバーズ末期の音源として有名な5月31日と6月1日のロス・アンゼルス公演をネットを経由して登場した2nd Genのテープをデジタル化したとされるテイクを収録。1980年頃にリリースされていた3枚組のアナログLPで使用されたソースの大元のテイクです。5月31日公演テイクは14曲で約80分の収録で、6月1日のテイクは9曲で49分の収録です。全編に渡ってジミー・ペイジのギターがラウドなサウンドで収録されており、全ての楽曲で、オリジナリティに溢れたサウンドと奏法を駆使したこの時期ならではのパフォーマンスを堪能することができます。各曲でのソロプレイはその全てが聴き所であり、ツェッペリン期を彷彿とさせるムード溢れるエネルギッシュなロングソロが聴けます。オープニングは両ショウともにTrain Kept A Rollin’で冒頭から勢いのある演奏を聴くことができます。キース・レルフの味わい深いソフトなボーカルもクリアーに収録されており、各曲で聴ける、ジミーのプレイとのコンビネーションも聴き所になっています。シングルでもお馴染みのHeart Full Of Soul、Shapes Of Things、I’m A Man、Happenings Ten Years Time Ago、ツェッペリン時代でも重要レパートリーとなるDazed And Confused、シタール奏法を取り入れたWhite Summer、How May More Timesの大元Smokestack Lightningなど聴き所満載。時代を考えると、十分に聴けるサウンドで、貴重な最後期のヤードバーズの演奏に触れることができます。

★beatleg誌 vol.115(2010年2月号)のレビュー要約です。ご参考まで。

ジミー・ペイジ在籍時におけるヤードバーズの1968年5月31日と6月1日、ロサンゼルスのシュリーン・オーディトーリアムにおける2公演を収録している。アナログ時代から『Last Rave-Up In L.A.』のタイトルでLP化されていて、アナログ落としではないCDとしてGoldstoneによる『Last Rave-Up In L.A. (GTD-017)』があるが、それにはアナログ盤に収録されている「White Summer」が完全に欠落した致命的な欠点がある。ここにはその「White Summer」もきちんと収録されており、やっと1タイトルで事足りるに至った。2009年11月にネット上へアップロードされたものが基になっているが、そのフォルダーに添付されているインフォメーションによると、2ndジェネのテープがマスターとなっているそうだ。『Last Rave-Up In L.A. (GTD-017)』と比べて、音質は両公演とも劇的に向上しているわけではないが、アップロードされたものにマスタリングを施すことで音の輪郭がはっきりしているのと、『Last Rave-Up In L.A. (GTD-017)』もアップロードされたものもテープ・スピードが若干遅く、ピッチが低くなっているが、それもきちんと修正されているので、全体を通して鑑賞向きの内容に仕上がっているのが大きなポイントだ。この1ヵ月後にヤードバーズは消滅し、その2ヵ月後にレッド・ツェッペリンが生まれてニュー・ヤードバーズとしてスカンジナビア・ツアーを行うわけだが、「The Train Kept A-Rollin’」と「Dazed And Confused」だけでなく、「How Many More Times」と「You Shook Me」のそれぞれの母体のような「Smokestack Lightning」と「New York City Blues」など、非常に興味深い演奏が満載なので、とにかくツェッペリン・マニアにとって極めて重要な音源であることだけは間違いないだろう。

Disc 1
[31st May 1968] 1. Train Kept A Rollin’
2. Mister You’re A Better Man Than I
3. Heart Full Of Soul
4. Dazed And Confused
5. Shapes Of Things
6. I’m A Man
7. White Summer
8. Smokestack Lightning
9. Waiting For My Man
10. Bye Bye Bird
11. Happenings Ten Years Time Ago
12. Drinking Muddy Water
13. New York City Blues

Disc 2
1. I Wish You Would – Hey Gyp
[01st June 1968] 2. Train Kept A Rollin’
3. Mr. You’re A Better Man Than I
4. Heart Full Of Soul
5. Happenings Ten Years Time Ago
6. I Wish You Would – Hey Gyp
7. Drinking Muddy Water
8. New York City Blues
9. I Ain’t Done Wrong
10. Over Under Sideways Down

Jimmy Page : Guitar
Keith Relf : Vocal, Harmonica
Chris Dreja : Bass
Jim McCarty : Drums

Uxbridge 165

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.