Crosby Stills Nash & Young / Kansas City Express / 3CD

Crosby Stills Nash & Young / Kansas City Express / 3CD / Zeus

Kemper Arena, Kansas City, Missouri, USA. 26 Jan 2000.

Click Image To Enlarge

A masterpiece released at that time with haste alongside Detroit on the first day. This is also a recording with the same taper and the sound quality is at a level where there is no imperfect. It is a wonderful sound source that can be heard from the beginning to the end of the show with powerful sound pressure and clearness. Even though the audience was recorded exactly 20 years ago, it is as good as the sound source recorded with the current equipment. In addition, it was a sound source that did not appear among traders, so it received high praise from the beginning of the release (now it should have been called “a proprietary sound source that has not appeared among traders”).
This day was not only the second day of the tour, but it was the second stage with an intervening off, so the degree of perfection suddenly increased compared to Detroit, where tension and awkwardness were apparently hidden You can see that four people are playing at ease. Anyway, the sound quality is good, so the momentum of this performance is also real.
Especially at the acoustic corner in the middle of the show, the performances are more subdued than Detroit, and their harmony is clear. At the time, the tour started in 2000, and at that time it was perceived as a reunion of a mature CSNY, but in fact at that time they were all still in their 50s. As an extra bonus, the appearance of a tour that took place with the new album “LOOKING FORWARD” after a long absence and that exudes the sense of activeness of the tour should be appreciated again.
And the biggest highlight is the second half of the live performance when the engine was fully opened. “ Mr. Soul ” etc. is a powerful performance such as the reproduction of Buffalo Springfield because Neil and Steven Stills sing and play together, and it is a brave beginning with march style drumming that attracted much attention at the time The arrangement of “Ohio” has enough impact even if you hear it now.
Detroit captures the turbulent stage that seems to be the first day, Kansas City where the degree of perfection increased at a stretch on the second day of the tour, and it is a contrasting performance content, both of which were audience recordings with the highest sound quality, It is a masterpiece that reigned as a masterpiece of the 2000 reunion tour.

The original release of this work was March 2000. 10 sets only arrived from overseas. (It is completely new. There will be no stock in the future.)

特にショー中盤のアコースティック・コーナーはどれもデトロイトより落ち着いた演奏が聞かれ、彼らの本領であるハーモニーが冴え渡っている。2000年を迎えてのツアーと言うことから、当時は円熟味のあるCSNY再結成といった感で捉えられていましたが、実は当時の彼らはまだ全員が50代。おまけに久々のニューアルバム「LOOKING FORWARD」を携えて敢行したツアーならではの現役感を押し出していた姿は改めて評価されるべきでしょう。
そして最大の聞きどころはエンジン全開となったライブ後半。「Mr. Soul」などはニールとスティーブン・スティルスが一緒に歌って演奏していることから、もはやバッファロー・スプリングフィールドの再現といった迫力満点の演奏ですし、当時話題を呼んだマーチ風ドラミングから始まる勇ましいアレンジの「Ohio」は今聞いてもインパクト十分。


Disc 1
1. Carry On
2. Southern Man
3. Pre-Road Downs
4. Stand And Be Counted
5. Heartland
6. 49 Bye-Byes
7. Slowpoke
8. Marrakesh Express
9. Faith In Me
10. Almost Cut My Hair
11. Cinnamon Gir

Disc 2
1. Helplessly Hoping
2. Our House
3. Only Love Can Break Your Heart
4. Dream For Him
5. Someday Soon
6. Looking Forward
7. After The Goldrush
8. Guinnevere
9. Out Of Control
10. Seen Enough
11. Teach Your Children
12. 7th Inning Stretch

Disc 3
1. Woodstock
2. Long Time Gone
3. Ohio
4. For What It’s Worth
5. Mr. Soul
6. Southern Cross
7. Rockin’ In The Free World
8. Love The One You’re Wit


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.