Rolling Stones, The / Palladium 1978 / 2CD+1Bonus CDR

Rolling Stones, The / Palladium 1978 / 2CD+1Bonus CDR / Non Label

Live at Palladium, New York City, New York, USA 19th June 1978 TRULY AMAZING/PERFECT SOUND(UPGRADE)Plus Bonus CDR Some Girls UK Original LP

Click Image To Enlarge

The Rolling Stones At the beginning of the 1978 US tour, it was talked about playing a gig at the theater class venue. The most famous of these is “GARDEN STATE 78” at Capitol Theater on June 14th. About a week later, theater gigs were repeated at the Palladium Theater in New York. Speaking of the Stones Palladium, Hollywood in 1972 is famous, but this is New York. With the release of the album “Women”, which was said to have returned to the origin in terms of sound, I think they tried to return to the origin in terms of the scale of the performance venue.
A monaural audience recording is left for the theater gig in that precious paradium. This did not see the light of day in the analog era, but surprisingly it was released on CD after the 21st century. This was a typical vintage audience, but it was released on the EXILE label as “NEW YORK PALLADIUM”.

It was a release enough to please enthusiasts in that the precious 1978 theater gig was released, but it seems that it was based on the master in a state where the gene was considerably dropped, only the vintage texture of the previous one. Instead, the fact that the tape was damaged everywhere was a big stress.
Because of that, it was a sound source that only the EXILE board (hereinafter referred to as the already-released board) existed afterwards, but this time the trader provided us with a high-ranking master in a much better condition. In the first place, there was a strong swell of sound from the opening announcement and the subsequent “Let It Rock” on the existing board, but here there is no such problem, a sense of stability that can be heard at a glance. .. In addition to that, the upper and natural feeling of the sound quality itself is overwhelming. It’s a category of vintage audience to the last, but if you are a maniac who has heard the already-released board, you may feel that it is easy to hear from these points alone.
Since the stability of the sound source itself is completely different, the rotation unevenness in “Miss You” which was the biggest stress in the existing board and the swell in the next “Just My Imagination” have not occurred at all anymore. We guarantee the ease of listening that can be asserted as another dimension. Even so, the pitch deviation has been adjusted firmly, so it has finally evolved into a state where enthusiasts can enjoy it.

By bringing such an overwhelming sense of stability, in addition to the messy feeling unique to the beginning of the 1978 tour, the charm of the performance combined with the intimacy unique to the theater gig is fully conveyed. From the momentum of the performance throughout, the 1978 tour seems to be fully open, but when it becomes the second disc, it accelerates further. “Shattered” that begins with Mick’s screaming is a scene that can be called 1978, and the ending of “Tumbling Dice” and “Happy” that seems to have suddenly braked the vigorous performance is a masterpiece. This mess seems to be a 78 year tour again.
Not only the performance, but also the realism that is transmitted from the recording to the intimacy like a theater is the highlight. It is also interesting that the audience around the show responded positively to the new song “Women” from the beginning of the show. Isn’t it only on this day in 1978 that people are expecting the same song even before the performance of the country tune “Far Away Eyes”, which Mick said was “very unpopular”? In addition, applause occurs when Ronnie’s solo is over in “Love In Vain”, which is a kindness like a theater.
And like the existing version, the final recording is “Don’t Look Back” by Peter Tosh, who acted as the undercard. Of course, the 1978 specialty of Mick’s pre-production has been realized here as well, and you can enjoy his duet with Tosh. Again, it’s a monaural vintage audience with bare sound quality, and a sound source with slight tape sway. However, the hurdle of the 1978 theater gig, which is precious with an upper feeling that is incomparable to the existing one, has dropped sharply!
More about this source textSource text required for additional translation information
Send feedback
Side panels

ローリング・ストーンズ1978年のアメリカ・ツアーは開始当初、シアター・クラスの会場でのギグを敢行したことが話題となりました。その中でも一番有名なのが6月14日のパサイック、キャピトル・シアターの「GARDEN STATE 78」。それから約一週間後にもニューヨークのパラディアム劇場でシアター・ギグが繰り返されました。ストーンズのパラディアムと言えば72年のハリウッドが有名ですが、こちらはニューヨーク。サウンド面で原点回帰と評されたアルバム「女たち」のリリースに伴い、演奏会場の規模に関しても原点に戻ろうとしたのではないでしょうか。
その貴重なパラディアムでのシアター・ギグに関してはモノラルのオーディエンス録音が残されています。これがアナログ時代に日の目を見ることはありませんでしたが、意外にも21世紀を迎えてからCDでのリリースが実現。これが典型的なビンテージ・オーディエンスだったのですが、EXILEレーベルからその名も「NEW YORK PALLADIUM」としてリリースされたのでした。

そのせいで後にも先にもEXILE盤(以下、既発盤と称します)しか存在しない音源だったのですが、今回は遥かに状態のいい上位マスターをトレーダーから提供いただきました。そもそも既発盤ではオープニングのアナウンスと、それに続いた「Let It Rock」からして強烈な音のうねりが生じていたのですが、ここではそうした問題が一切ない、一聴して分かるほどの安定感。それに加えて音質自体のアッパー感やナチュラル感も圧倒的。あくまでビンテージ・オーディエンスの範疇ではありますが、既発盤を聞いたことのあるマニアあれば、これらの点だけでも俄然聞きやすいと感じていただけるのでは。
もう音源そのものの安定感自体がまるで違いますので、既発盤における最大のストレスだった「Miss You」での回転ムラと次の「Just My Imagination」にあったうねりがまったく生じておらず、もはや別次元と断言できるほどの聞きやすさを保証します。それでいてピッチの狂いもしっかりアジャストしましたので、いよいよマニアが楽しめる状態へと進化しました。

こうした圧倒的な安定感がもたらされたことで78年ツアー序盤ならではのハチャメチャ感に加え、シアター・ギグならではの親密さが合わさった演奏の魅力がふんだんに伝わってくる。全体を通しての勢いある演奏ぶりからして78年ツアーらしさが全開なのですが、それが二枚目のディスクになるとさらに加速。ミックの絶叫から始まる「Shattered」など、これぞ78年と呼べるような光景ですし、勢いのある演奏にまるで急ブレーキをかけたような「Tumbling Dice」と「Happy」の終わり方が傑作。この雑さがまた何とも78年ツアーらしい。
演奏はもちろん、録音からいかにもシアターらしい親密さまで伝わってくる臨場感も聞きどころ。この日はショー開始当初から周囲の観客が当時の新曲である「女たち」収録曲に対して好意的な反応を見せているのがまた面白いのです。ミックをして「大不評だった」と言わしめたカントリー・チューン「Far Away Eyes」の演奏が始まる前から同曲を期待する声が聞かれるというのは78年の中でもこの日だけでは?おまけに「Love In Vain」でロニーのソロが終わると拍手が起こるのもシアターらしい和やかさ。
そして既発盤と同様、最後には前座を務めたピーター・トッシュの「Don’t Look Back」を収録。もちろん78年名物と呼べるミック本番前の飛び入りがここでも実現していて、彼がトッシュとデュエットしている様子も楽しめます。繰り返しますがモノラルのビンテージ・オーディエンス丸出しな音質であり、微弱なテープ揺れを抱えた音源でもある。しかし既発とは比べ物にならないアッパー感で貴重な78年シアター・ギグのハードルがグッと下がりました!

Disc 1 (40:28)
1. Intro.
2. Let It Rock
3. All Down The Line
4. Honky Tonk Women
5. Star Star
6. When The Whip Comes Down
7. Respectable
8. Miss You
9. Just My Imagination

Disc 2 (47:58)
1. Far Away Eyes
2. Love In Vain
3. Beast Of Burden
4. Shattered
5. Sweet Little Sixteen
6. Tumbling Dice
7. Happy
8. Brown Sugar
9. Jumping Jack Flash

Bonus Track
10. Don’t Look Back (Peter Tosh with Mick Jagger)


Rolling Stones, The / Some Girls UK Original LP /1 CDR

Some Girls UK Original LP

Click Image To Enlarge


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.