Rickie Lee Jones / Albany 2019 / 2CDR

Rickie Lee Jones / Albany 2019 / 2CDR / Uxbridge

Live At The Egg, Albany, NY USA 1st March 2019.

Play sample :

Click Image To Enlarge

Ricky Lee Jones has released a cover album “KICKS” and has a wonderful performance in Japan. A masterpiece live album that deepens the reverberation is here.
Included in this work is “March 1, 2019 Albany Performance”. It is the best audience recording. She is currently in the midst of a world tour celebrating the 40th anniversary of her debut. In order to know the current situation, let’s check the show position from the 2019 activity summary.

・ February 21-March 3: North America # 1 (8 performances) ← ★ Here ★
<< May 15 “KICKS” release >>
・ May 16 + 17: Japan (2 performances)
・ June 1-23: North America # 2 (7 performances)
・ June 30-July 7: Europe # 1 (3 performances)
・ July 18-20: North America # 3 (3 performances)
・ August 17: Riverhead performance
・ October 7-23: North America # 4 (11 shows)
・ October 27-November 20: Europe # 2 (4 performances)

This is the schedule announced so far. Repeat the show and move every day … Rather than saying, it is a style that repeats mini-tours of several performances while going back and forth between the home country America and all over the world. You can see how she seems to be at her age of 64. The Albany performance of this work is the very beginning of such 2019. This is the 6th concert of “North America # 1” that dates back to Japan. Although it has been a while, this is the latest sound source released recently after the Japanese performance.
This work, which recorded such a show, is a neat and deep-hearted audience recording. What’s amazing is the on-core. It is a little different from the sound board feeling, but the sound of the hall is hardly felt and the clear core jumps straight into your hand. It may be a simple trio organization with only guitar and percussion, and the outline of each sound that is spun is strangely vivid and does not mix. The singing voice is clearly understood up to one word of the lyrics, and there is plenty of dynamism from sighing to singing on a large scale. And just fine. The applause that bounces between songs seems to be slightly distorted, but the essential singing voice and performance are extremely natural. It is a recording of beauty that has a sense of reality in her breathing.
It seems that the beautiful sound is drawn for the 40th anniversary of the debut, yet it is similar to the performance in Japan. Let’s organize the contents here.

● RICKIE LEE JONES (7 songs)
・ Weasel and the White Boys Cool, Young Blood, Chuck E.’s in Love, The Last Chance Texaco, Danny’s All-Star Joint, Coolsville, On Saturday Afternoons in 1963
● PIRATES (3 songs)
・ We Belong Together, Living It Up, Pirates (So Long Lonely Avenue)
● FLYING COWBOYS (2 songs)
・ Love Is Gonna Bring Us Back Alive, The Horses
● Other (3 songs)
・ It Must Be Love (THE MAGAZINE), The Albatross (TRAFFIC FROM PARADISE), Bad Company (KICKS)

… and it looks like this. The axis is the debut work “RICKIE LEE JONES”, 40 years after its release. 7 out of 11 songs are also on the big side, and 3 songs from “PIRATES” solidify. Most of the remaining 80’s numbers are covered by “The Albatross” of the 90s and “Bad Company” covered by the latest work “KICKS”. The great feature of “Romantic” is the same as the other day in Japan, but the selection is very different. Three repertoires such as “Young Blood”, “Danny’s All Star Joint” and “Coolsville” debut, “It Must Be Love” from “THE MAGAZINE” and “The Albatross” from “TRAFFIC FROM PARADISE” are introduced in our shop. The masterpiece “TOKYO 2019 (Uxbridge 1039)” cannot be heard. Even those who have experienced “TOKYO 2019” can enjoy a show with a completely different expression while also making the image of the 40th anniversary strong.

】 Ricky still lets me hear a delicate and powerful singing voice when I was 64 years old. It is a masterpiece that can be experienced with its superb sound that is crystal clear and crystal clear. A live album that can be enjoyed as a treasure box of further masterpieces for those who experienced the other day’s Japanese performance, and as a culmination of the 40th anniversary for those who are not. Please enjoy yourself carefully.




・Weasel and the White Boys Cool、Young Blood、Chuck E.’s in Love、The Last Chance Texaco、Danny’s All-Star Joint、Coolsville、On Saturday Afternoons in 1963
・We Belong Together、Living It Up、Pirates (So Long Lonely Avenue)
・Love Is Gonna Bring Us Back Alive、The Horses
・It Must Be Love(THE MAGAZINE)、The Albatross(TRAFFIC FROM PARADISE)、Bad Company(KICKS)

……と、このようになっています。軸となるのは、なんと言ってもリリースから40年となるデビュー作『RICKIE LEE JONES(浪漫)』。全11曲中7曲も大盤振る舞いされ、『PIRATES』からの3曲が脇を固める。残りも80年代のナンバーが大半を占め、そこに90年代の「The Albatross」や最新作『KICKS』でカバーされた「Bad Company」をまぶす構成です。『浪漫』の大フィーチュアは先日の日本公演にも通じますが、セレクトは大きく異なる。デビュー作の「Young Blood」「Danny’s All Star Joint」「Coolsville」の3曲や『THE MAGAZINE』の「It Must Be Love」、『TRAFFIC FROM PARADISE』の「The Albatross」といったレパートリーは、当店でご紹介した傑作『TOKYO 2019(Uxbridge 1039)』でも聴けないもの。『TOKYO 2019』を体験された方でも、同じく40周年を強くイメージさせながら表情のまったく異なるショウを楽しめるのです。


Disc 1(48:30)
1. Intro
2. Weasel and the White Boys Cool
3. Talk
4. Young Blood
5. Chuck E.’s in Love
6. Talk
7. The Last Chance Texaco
8. Talk
9. It Must Be Love
10. Talk
11. Danny’s All-Star Joint
12. Talk
13. Love Is Gonna Bring Us Back Alive

Disc 2(52:31)
1. Talk
2. We Belong Together
3. Talk
4. Living It Up
5. Talk
6. Pirates (So Long Lonely Avenue)
7. The Horses
8. Talk
9. The Albatross
10. Talk
11. Coolsville
12. Talk
13. On Saturday Afternoons in 1963
14. Talk
15. Bad Company

Rickie Lee Jones – Guitars, Piano, Vocals
Cliff Hines – Guitar, Vocals
Mike Dillon – drums, Vibes, Percussion’s

Uxbridge 1091

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.