Paul McCartney / Welcome To Wembley 1990 / 2CD With OBI Strip

Paul McCartney / Welcome To Wembley 1990 / 2CD With OBI Strip / Valkyrie

Wembley Arena London, UK, January 16, 23 & 26, 1990.  Digitally Remastered

Play sample :

Click Image To Enlarge

Paul’s first solo tour, which took place in 1989, 1990 and 2 years, started from Europe and landed in the United States, and was completed in January 1990, with the year ending in January of 1990. It was a schedule. It is a concert in the UK for the first time in 10 years. Moreover, in the UK, there were six performances in Birmingham, and in Wembley, London, there were 11 consecutive performances in the same city, with the largest performances being set up during the tour. This work is the title which recorded the Wembley performance completely on a sound board.

It is not clear how this sound source leaked out. It is adopted from several performances of Wembley continuous performances in early January 1990, but there is a sense of unity in the sound quality, and even if the best part is selected, the performance site is different even in the song and there are traces of editing etc. It may even be premised on some official release. It is a soundboard sound source with high quality.

There were already released boards because it was only this sound source, but all had problems with sound quality and content. If you have already released the board, I think that it is the title of the VOXX label that was considered the best until then. However, the VOXX label has been nearly 20 years since its release, and since then no label has been released, and it is an unfortunate sound source that has been left with problems. There is no doubt that this work will be a definitive board that surpasses them, and will become a standard title representing a get back tour.

If you already have the board, you may have felt a sense of discomfort as the volume level goes up and down unnaturally from the part of the first intro SE. In addition, “Figure Of Eight” has the disadvantage that the volume level drops from the break part of the song, probably because the performances with different dates are edited before and after this. This work is the first advantage that the level is adjusted uniformly like the sound of a real hall through the whole concert.

And the biggest defect of the already released board is “Jet” of the second music. Following the intro riff, Paul exclaims “Eh ~ ie ~ jets!” This “jets!” Is twice more often due to an editing mistake, and the second overtime “jets!” Because it does not exist, it extends between “Jeez”. In other words, the song composition is wrong due to an editing mistake. It seems that mania has always felt a sense of discomfort as this kind of obvious mistake has been neglected. There are no such deficiencies in this work, and it has the correct song configuration that should be.

Also, as a disadvantage of the existing disc, the disc split starts with Disc 1 until “Things We Said Today” and Disc 2 starts with “Eleanor Rigby”. As you know, these two songs are played continuously like medley by connecting the lobby guitar solo. Many titles have been released from the time back to the Get Back Tour, but it will be the only Wembley disc that has recorded these two songs separately. Stop the flow of the concert Without a sense of editing had become a major drawback of the already published board. Like this trip, Disc 1 starts from “This One” until Disc “Eleanor Rigby”.

In addition, there is a point that “Twenty Flight Rock” fades out due to incomplete recording as a defect of the already released board. One of the advantages of this film is that it is completely recorded by editing. Furthermore, “The End” is an important song that concludes the end of the concert, but this was also an incomplete recording in a fade-out on the already released disc. This work is also the last Jan by editing! It is completely recorded until.

And the pitch upset was one of the major drawbacks of the already released board. At the beginning of the game, although the values ​​are correct at the normal values, they get faster as they move to the second half, and by the time they come past “Coming Up”, the pitch is 3% faster than the normal values. This was a big mistake of the level which can recognize the disparate even if it usually listens. In this work, this pitch is properly adjusted to plus minus zero throughout.

As mentioned above, the already released board which has already finished its role and became a thing of the past is lacking in contents, pitching, editing errors, unstable levels, etc., and it is the best sound source even though it is such a great sound source. Even the ones that were mentioned were quite ugly from the current point of view. This work will eliminate all those deficiencies, and it will be a universal title that will remain as a definitive board. January 1990 Wembley performances are fully recorded on the sound board. A permanent press with a beautiful picture disc specification. Japanese band included.

1989年、1990年と2年に渡って行なわれたポール初のソロ・ツアーは、欧州から始まりア メリカに上陸、そして年が明けて1990年1月、満を持して本国イギリスに凱旋するスケジ ュールであった。実に10年ぶりの英国でのコンサートである。しかもイギリス国内は、バ ーミンガムで6公演、そしてロンドンのウェンブリーでは実に11連続公演という同一都市 ではツアー中最大の規模で連続公演が組まれたのである。本作は、そのウェンブリー公演 をサウンドボードで完全収録したタイトルである。

この音源がどのような経緯で流出したのかははっきりとしない。1990年1月初頭のウェン ブリー連続公演の複数の公演から採用されているが、音質に統一感があり、ベストな部分 を選択したのか曲中においても公演地が異なり編集の痕跡が見られるなど、何らかの公式 リリースを前提としたものではないかとさえ思われる。それくらいクオリティの高いサウ ンドボード音源である。

これだけの音源であるため既発盤もあったが、いずれも音質と内容に問題を抱えていた。 おそらく既発盤をお持ちの方は、それまでベストとされていたVOXXレーベルのタイトルで はと思う。しかし、VOXXレーベルはリリースより既に20年近く経過しており、その後いず れのレーベルから改定盤も出ず、問題を抱えたまま放置されていた不遇な音源である。本 作がそれらを凌駕する決定盤となり、またゲット・バック・ツアーを代表する定番タイト ルになることは間違いないだろう。

既発盤をお持ちの方は最初のイントロSEの部分からボリューム・レベルが不自然に上下す るのに違和感を覚えたのではないか。さらに、恐らくこの前後で日付が異なる演奏が編集 されているのであろう、「Figure Of Eight」に至っては曲のブレイク部分から音量レベ ルが下がるという欠点を有していた。本作はコンサート全編を通して実際の会場の出音の ようにレベルを均一に調整してあるのがまず第一の利点である。

そして既発盤最大の欠点が2曲目の「Jet」である。イントロ・リフに続いてポールが「イ ェ~ィエィエ~ジェッツ!」と叫ぶ部分、この「ジェッツ!」が編集ミスにより2回も多 く、さらに過分2度目の「ジェッツ!」では編集ポイントが合っていないため「ジェエエ ッツ」と間延びしている。つまり編集ミスによって曲構成が間違っているのである。この ような明白なミスが放置されていることにマニアはずっと違和感を抱いていたことだろう 。本作ではそのような不備はなく、本来あるべき正しい曲構成となっている。

また既発盤の欠点としては、ディスク割りが「Things We Said Today」までがディスク 1、ディスク2が「Eleanor Rigby」で始まるものとなっていた。ご存知の通り、この2曲 はロビーのギター・ソロを繋ぎとしてメドレーのように続けて演奏されている。ゲット・ バック・ツアーは当時から多くのタイトルがリリースされているが、この2曲を分断して 収録しているのは、このウェンブリーの既発盤のみであろう。コンサートの流れを止める センスのない編集は既発盤の大きな欠点となっていた。本作はトリッピング同様に、ディ スク1が「Eleanor Rigby」まで、ディスク2が「This One」から始まるようになっている 。

さらに既発盤の欠点として「Twenty Flight Rock」が不完全収録でフェイドアウトしてし まう点が挙げられる。本作では編集によりきちんと完全収録になっているのも利点のひと つである。さらに「The End」はコンサートの最後を締めくくる重要な曲だが、これも既 発盤ではフェイド・アウトで不完全収録となっていた。本作はこれも編集により最後のジ ャン!まで完全収録となっている。

そしてピッチの狂いも既発盤の大きな欠点のひとつであった。最初の頃はきちんと正常値 で合っているものの、後半に進むに従ってどんどん早くなり、「Coming Up」を過ぎた頃 からは正常値に対し3%以上ピッチが速くなっている。これは普通に聴いていても違和を 認識できるレベルの大きな狂いであった。本作はこのピッチを全体を通してきちんとプラ スマイナスゼロに調整してある。

以上のように、既に役割を終え過去のものとなった既発盤は、内容に欠落あり、ピッチ狂 いあり、編集ミスあり、レベルも不安定と、これだけの名音源でありながら、ベストとさ れているものですら、現在の視点から見るとかなり杜撰なものであった。本作はそれら欠 点を全て解消し、まさに決定盤として後世に残る普遍的なタイトルとなるであろう。1990 年1月ウェンブリー公演をサウンドボードで完全収録。美しいピクチャー・ディスク仕様 の永久保存がっちりプレス盤。日本語帯付。

WEMBLEY ARENA LONDON, U.K. January 16, 23 & 26, 1990
01. Figure Of Eight
02. Jet
03. Rough Ride
04. Got To Get You Into My Life
05. Band On The Run
06. Ebony And Ivory
07. We Got Married
08. Maybe I’m Amazed
09. The Long And Winding Road
10. Fool On The Hill
11. SGT.Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band
12. Good Day Sunshine
13. Can’t Buy Me Love
14. Put It There
15. Things We Said Today
16. Eleanor Rigby

01. This One
02. My Brave Face
03. Back In The USSR
04. I Saw Her Standing There
05. Twenty Flight Rock
06. Coming Up
07. Let It Be
08. Ain’t That A Shame
09. Live And Let Die
10. Hey Jude
11. Yesterday
12. Get Back
13. Golden Slumbers – Carry That Weight – The End

Valkyrie Records. VAL-014

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.