Paul McCartney / Freshen Up Tour QUEBEC City 2018 / 2CD Wx OBI Strip

Paul McCartney / Freshen Up Tour QUEBEC City 2018 / 2CD Wx OBI Strip / Piccadilly Circus

Translated text:

Videotron Centre, QUEBEC City, Canada September 17, 2018.

Click Image To Enlarge

Paul McCartney entered in 2018 and is doing a gig warm up in Liverpool and London in June and July. And on September 7, 2018 I am performing a concert at the special stage of Grand Central Station in New York. Although the set list is simplified than usual, Paul ‘s decay as a musician is not felt, and the band has already entered the 16th year since becoming a member, but everyone performs wonderful performance. I think that it is better to have a band name as a permanent member anymore. And finally, I revised the last ONE ONE TOUR and announced that I will go on a new tour again entitled FRESHEN UP TOUR. Starting in Canada in September 2018, this tour has already been announced until the 2019 schedule, in an atmosphere that seems to be a large scale going around Europe, Japan, and the United States including the festival appearance.

One characteristic of this FRESHEN UP TOUR is the addition of new songs to the repertoire from the new album “EGYPT STATION”. Moreover, he plays two songs “Who Cares” and “Come On To Me” in the beginning of the concert, and “Fuh You” in the middle. Both are thought to be a musical piece that is kept in mind that it plays with a concert, becoming an important accent of the stage composition. Also, the first premiere on this tour is “From Me To You”. It is one of the representative songs of the extremely early Beatles, and has been picked up as an acoustic corner. In addition, if you see only the songs in the set list, there is no fresh selection of songs contrary to the tour title, and the songs that have been played are arranged side by side. If you mention the characteristics of this tour, you should focus on arranging rather than songs.

The major difference from the conventional pole stage is the addition of a brass section. Except for the wings of the 1970s, basically nobody other than band members joined the performance on the stage of Paul. Of course there was no schedule for the Bug · Pipe Orchestra to appear, or the guests to play. However, there are no musicians who took part in the tour and participated every night as a concert performance. For the first time, the brass section has joined the band. The arrange also makes use of it daringly in that the sound substituting for the keyboard which Wix plays until then is played with real instruments.

Brass section first appears in “Letting Go”. Moreover, the audience is very excited with a surprise production in which members who are lined up in the audience seems to suddenly play, not on stage. In the latter half of the song, a short brass solo is inserted in a break, making it even more prominent. The new song “Come On To Me” has also been featured extensively. Other brass sections also play an important role in “Let ‘Em In”, “Lady Madonna”, “Ob La Di Ob La Da”, “Live And Let Die”, “Hey Jude” and the last Abbey Road Medley . While introducing such a brass section, it is strange that “Got To Get You Into My Life” did not join the set list.

And another thing is that the “My Valentine” which was singing on the piano and played in a talking style has been played in the acoustic set this time. Paul devotes himself to vocals without having instruments, but he sings with loudspeakers that are used not for microphones but for athletic meetings. This is aimed at effect effects that will dare to hear from the old radio, it would be a nice idea that seems to have an old sepia-colored landscape with melody and good melody.

This work is the very first day of this 2018 FRESHEN UP TOUR, September 17, 2018 Canada has a complete collection of Quebec City performances. The venue was a multipurpose arena called Video Tron Center, an indoor venue, but it is the biggest venue in the country with the sixth scale in Canada. At the meeting place, it is recorded with a very excellent recording. On the very first day of Paul’s latest tour, complete recording of Quebec City performances with high sound quality. In the bonus track, it contains radio stations that announce concerts repeatedly broadcasted in Canada. Permanent preservation of a beautiful picture / disk specification A tightly pressed press. Japanese style attaching.

ポール・マッカートニーは2018年に入り、6月と7月にリバプールとロンドンでウォーム・アップ的にギグを行なっている。そして2018年9月7日にはニューヨークのグランド・セントラル駅の特設ステージにおいてコンサートを行なっている。セットリストは通常より簡略化されたものながら、ポールのミュージシャンとしての衰えは感じられず、このメンバーになってからバンドも既に16年目に突入するが、全員が素晴らしいパフォーマンスを行なっている。もはやパーマネントなメンバーとしてバンド名を冠しても良いのではと思うくらいである。そしていよいよ、前回のONE ON ONE TOURを改め、FRESHEN UP TOURと題して再び新たなツアーに出る事を発表したのである。このツアーは2018年9月カナダを皮切りに、フェスティバル出演を含む欧州や日本、そしてアメリカをまわる大規模なものになりそうな雰囲気で、既に2019年のスケジュールまで発表になっている。

このFRESHEN UP TOURにおける特徴として、ニューアルバム『EGYPT STATION』から新曲をレパートリーに加えている点が挙げられる。しかもコンサート序盤に「Who Cares」「Come On To Me」の2曲、そして中盤に「Fuh You」を演奏している。いずれもコンサートで演奏する事を念頭に置いた楽曲と思われ、ステージ構成の重要なアクセントとなっている。またこのツアーで初演となるのが「From Me To You」である。極初期のビートルズの代表曲のひとつであり、アコースティック・コーナーの1曲として採り上げられている。その他、セットリストの曲目だけ見ると、ツアータイトルに反しフレッシュな選曲はなく、これまでも演奏されてきた曲目が並んでいる。このツアーの特徴を挙げるとしたら、曲目よりもむしろ、アレンジに着目すべきであろう。


ブラス・セクションは「Letting Go」で初めて姿を現す。しかもステージ上ではなく、客席の中に並んだメンバーが突如奏でるサプライズ演出で、観客は大いに盛り上がっている。同曲は後半に短いブラス・ソロをブレイクに挿入し、一層際立つアレンジとなっている。新曲「Come On To Me」でも大々的にフューチャーされている。その他ブラス・セクションは「Let ‘Em In」や「Lady Madonna」「Ob La Di Ob La Da」「Live And Let Die」「Hey Jude」、そして最後のアビーロード・メドレーにおいても重要な役割を果たしている。このようなブラス・セクションを導入しながら「Got To Get You Into My Life」がセットリストに加わらなかったのか不思議である。

そしてもうひとつ、これまでピアノに座って引き語り形式で演奏されていた「My Valentine」が、今回はアコースティック・セットで演奏されている点も注目である。ポールは楽器を持たずボーカルに専念しているのだが、マイクではなく運動会で使うような拡声器を使って歌っている。これは敢えて古いラジオから聴こえてくるようなエフェクト効果を狙ったもので、曲調といい古いセピア色の風景が目に浮かぶようなナイス・アイデアであろう。

本作は、この2018年FRESHEN UP TOURのまさに初日、2018年9月17日カナダはケベック・シティ公演を完全収録している。会場となったのはビデオトロン・センターという多目的アリーナで、屋内会場であるが、カナダ国内で6番目の規模を誇る大きな会場である。その大会場において、非常に優れた録音で収録されている。ポールの最新ツアーのまさに初日、ケベック・シティ公演を高音質で完全収録。ボーナストラックでは、カナダ国内で繰り返し放送されていたコンサートを告知するラジオ・スポットを収録している。美しいピクチャー・ディスク仕様の永久保存がっちりプレス盤。日本語帯付。

01. A Hard Day’s Night
02. Hi Hi Hi
03. Can’t Buy Me Love
04. Letting Go with brass section
05. Who Cares
06. Come On To Me with brass section
07. Let Me Roll It
08. I’ve Got A Feeling
09. Let ‘Em In with brass section
10. Nineteen Hundred And Eighty Five
11. Maybe I’m Amazed
12. I’ve Just Seen A Face
13. In Spite Of All Danger
14. From Me To You
15. My Valentine
16. Michelle
17. Love Me Do 18. Blackbird

01. Here Today
02. Queenie Eye
03. Lady Madonna with brass section
04. Fourfive Seconds
05. Eleanor Rigby
06. Fuh You
07. Being For The Benefit Of Mr.Kite
08. Something
09. Ob La Di Ob La Da with brass section
10. Band On The Run
11. Back In The U.S.S.R.
12. Let It Be
13. Live And Let Die with brass section
14. Hey Jude with brass section
15. Yesterday
16. I Saw Her Standing There
17. SGT. Pepper’s Reprise
18. Helter Skelter
19. Golden Slumbers – Carry That Weight – The End with brass section

20. Quebec City Radio Ad

Piccadilly Circus. PCCD-290/291

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.