Led Zeppelin / The Performance Of Kells / 2CD Wx OBI Strip

Led Zeppelin / The Performance Of Kells / 2CD Wx OBI Strip / Wendy

Translated Text:
Boxing Stadium Dublin National, Ireland March 6, 1971. Digitally Remastered



Click Image To Enlarge


It was in 1968 that Led Zeppelin made a brilliant debut with an expensive contract. It already had a sales success from the first album and its reputation was firm in the second album. Third album is occupied by many acoustic songs, it is said that Zeppelin fans of those days, including Shibuya Yoichi, were discouraged, but in 1971 released Force album, it can be said that Led Zeppelin’s evaluation has been decided Is not it? Force album of Zeppelin which is still listed as one of the masterpieces in rock history even now. While the band name is not printed on the front despite the official title, the band name is the most sold album among all the Zeppelin albums.

Certainly this Force album is the one that Zeppelin ‘s appeal has been condensed and was built in as little as possible. “Rock’n Roll”, “Black Dog”, “Misty Mountain Hop” and “California”, including a number of songs occupying an important position after this stage. It can be said that the fusion of hard rock and acoustic is a masterpiece fruitfully fruited. And this Force album recorded high sales, there was “a stairway to heaven” in the background.

Jimmy Page and Robert Plant co-made “Stairway to Heaven” was unusual for a period of eight minutes when it was composed with the aim of being on air on the radio. And unexpectedly it is not even a single cut. Nonetheless, only this song walked alone, fans bought an album for this song, as if buying a single. There is no doubt that this song is the most famous song of Zeppelin. In the stage, not only will it always be played every time, but it was always to be shown at the highlight position of the concert.

In this way, it is a Force album released on November 8, 1971, but the recorded song has already been played on the stage a while ago. Its premiere is Belfast performance on March 5, 1971. On this day, “Black Dog” “Stairway To Heaven” “Going To California” “Rock And Roll” was displayed in front of the audience for the first time. According to Jimmy, the response of the audience who witnessed these songs for the first time is that “it seems that they did not get much pins”, but each one is a song that should be a highlight of the concert until later. And this work, the next day after the premiere, March 6 Ireland recorded Dublin performance.

Set list follows the traditional composition that begins with the medley of “Immigration Song” and “Heart Breaker” while inserting songs of the Force album, sandwiching “California” with an acoustic piece in between, It is interesting that it is making a stance to the stage composition of later years. Unlike the songs up to the third album that had been sung up to now, the beginningness of the songs of the Force album has become fresh one that can not be tasted in other eras or later in the same year’s Japan performance etc. There. “Black Dog” and so on are supposed to be conventional, the lyrics are so different that they learn to be incompatible when listening, probably Robert is still familiar. However, there is a force that it will be pushing with momentum whether it is correct lyrics or not.

March 6, 1971 Ireland was a concert at Dublin’s boxing venue. All music of the Force album to be shown here are all premiered as the premiere next day. Also, unlike the United States and Japan, British performances where good quality audience sound sources are hard to come out are recorded with wonderful high sound quality. Permanent preservation of a beautiful picture / disk specification A tightly pressed board. Japanese-style attaching.

レッド・ツェッペリンが高額な契約金と共に鮮烈なデビューを果たしたのは1968年。 ファースト・アルバムから既にセールス的に成功を収め、セカンド・アルバムでその名声は確固たるものとなった。 サード・アルバムはアコースティックな曲が多く占められており、渋谷陽一をはじめとして当時のツェッペリン・ファンは落胆したと伝えられるが、1971年リリースのフォース・アルバムで、ツェッペリンの評価は定まったと言えるのではないか。 現在でもロック史において名盤のひとつと挙げられているツェッペリンのフォース・アルバム。正式なタイトルはおろかバンド名さえフロントに印刷されていないジャケットながら、ツェッペリンの全アルバムの中で最も売れたアルバムとなっている。

確かにこのフォース・アルバムはツェッペリンの魅力が凝縮されており、 わずかな隙もないくらい作り込まれたものである。「ロックンロール」や「ブラックドッグ」、「ミスティ・マウンテン・ホップ」そして「カリフォルニア」など、この後ステージで重要な位置を占める楽曲が多数含まれている。 ハードなロックとアコースティックの融合が見事な形で結実した傑作といえる。そしてこのフォース・アルバムが高セールスを記録した背景には「天国への階段」の存在があった。

ジミーペイジとロバートプラントの共作による「天国への階段」はラジオでオンエアされることを念頭において作曲されていた当時としては異例の8分という長さ。 しかも意外なことにシングル・カットすらされていない。それにもかかわらず、この楽曲のみが独り歩きし、ファンはまるでシングルを買うように、この曲を目的としてアルバムを購入した。 異論はあろうが、この曲がツェッペリンで最も有名な曲であることは間違いない。ステージでは毎回必ず演奏されるのみならず、コンサートのハイライト的な位置で披露されるのが常であった。

このように、1971年11月8日にリリースされたフォース・アルバムであるが、 収録曲はその少し前からステージで既に演奏されていた。その初演となるのが1971年3月5日ベルファスト公演である。 この日、初めて聴衆の前で「Black Dog」「Stairway To Heaven」「Going To California」「Rock And Roll」が披露されたのである。 初めてこれらの楽曲を目の当たりにした聴衆の反応は、ジミーによれば「あまりピンとこなかったようだ」ということだが、 いずれも後年までコンサートのハイライトとなるべき楽曲である。そして本作は、この初演翌日、3月6日アイルランドはダブリン公演を収録している。

セットリストは「移民の歌」と「ハートブレーカー」のメドレーで始まる従来の構成を踏襲しつつ、 フォース・アルバムの曲を挿入するというもので、間に一曲アコースティックで「カリフォルニア」を挟むなど、 後年のステージ構成への布石となっているのが興味深い。 今まで歌い込まれていたサード・アルバムまでの楽曲と異なり、 フォース・アルバムの曲の初々しさは、他の時代や、この後の例えば同年の日本公演などでは味わえない新鮮なものとなっている。 「Black Dog」などは、従来通りのものを想定してい聴いていると違和を覚えるほど歌詞が異なり、おそらくロバートもまだうろ覚えなのだろう。 しかしそこはそれ、正しい歌詞であろうがなかろうが勢いで突き進む迫力がこのコンサートにはある。

1971年3月6日アイルランドはダブリンのボクシング会場で行なわれたコンサート。ここで披露されるフォース・アルバムの楽曲は全て初演翌日という初々しいものである。 またアメリカや日本と異なり良質なオーディエンス音源が出にくいイギリス公演において、素晴らしい高音質で収録されている。美しいピクチャー・ディスク仕様の永久保存がっちりプレス盤。日本語帯付。


01. Introduction
02. Immigrant Song
03. Heartbreaker
04. Since I’ve Been Loving You
05. Black Dog
06. Stairway To Heaven
07. Dazed And Confused
08. Going To California

01. What Is And What Should Never Be
02. Moby Dick
03. Whole Lotta Love
– Boogie Chillen
– Suzie Q
– Hey Baby, Don’t Go That Way
– Some Other Guy
– Honey Bee
– Needle Blues
– The Lemon Song
– That’s Alright Mama
04. Communication Breakdown
05. C’mon Everybody
06. Rock And Roll
Wendy. WECD-297/298

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.