Led Zeppelin / Listen To This Eddie – 2nd Edition / 3CD

Led Zeppelin / Listen To This Eddie – 2nd Edition / 3CD / Non Label

Live at the Forum, Inglewood, California, USA June 21, 1977

Click Image To Enlarge

Far from being a ZEP enthusiast, it is no exaggeration to say that this is a historic masterpiece “Eddie” that can be called an introduction to audience albums in all rock. Even if you are not a maniac, if you hear the name, there are many people who recognize that it is the best performance and sound source of ZEP 1977 live. In the LP era, it was released under the name of “LISTEN TO THIS EDDIE” from the RSR label and another brand under the umbrella, BOX TOP, and it was hailed as the best day of the 1977 American tour, but when it comes to CD, it is “edied” The title “” stands out. When I was a nostalgic Silver Rarities, it was still a simple era, and after that I felt that the cuts were exhausted, and eventually the release was contested for how low the generation was.
The legendary finest audience recorded by Mike Millard unfortunately became the timing of tape replacement in the latter half of the performance of “Ten Years Gone”, and a painful cut entered. However, 20 years ago, another audience recording was excavated for the first time with the same song, that is, “Source 2” appeared. By compensating for this, “Ten Years Gone” is finally available for complete recording. In other words, it has been essential that all “eddy” items for the past 20 years have both the compensation and low Gene. In other words, all items had the same basic framework.

However, in 2017, Source 3 will finally appear. That was the fastest-released audience album “LISTEN TO THIS ERIK.” Of course, the quality was less than that of Source 1 and the mirrored sound source, but it was still a wonderful recording that I could enjoy as an alternate recording. At the same time, the sound is closer to that of Source 2, and the maniac is raising the voice, “Can you make a new eddy using this as a supplement?” In order to respond to such a maniac’s voice, the long-awaited editing was finally carried out with this new eddy.
Items that have already utilized each of the two sound sources and have supplemented each have already been released from other labels. However, the best that everyone wants is probably the editing that focuses on the mirrored sound source. In that case, the game is all about “Ten Years Gone” and how to clean up the missing parts of the example with Source 3. This time, a truly smooth finish that does not disappoint this expectation should definitely satisfy enthusiasts. It took less than 30 seconds from switching to returning to mirrored, but that’s why I patched Source 3 without fail.
However, the compensation with the same song is a common sense, and this time, as an adjustable reach to the itchy place, we also compensated with Source 3 at the other two places. The cut that occurred after the end of “Since I’ve Been Loving You” and “Stairway To Heaven”. Of course, they are not the performance part, but by supplementing here, it is finally possible to listen to the legendary performance carefully.

And for the Eddie body, it uses the Sold Out title “THE FIRST” that was evaluated as the best version of the mirrored sound source. There were no unnecessary cuts, but the most refreshing and natural sound quality was a masterpiece that was highly evaluated by enthusiasts. In other words, the best eddy and the long-awaited source 3 are thoroughly supplemented. It is also the best version by each “Itokodori”.
First of all, “THE FIRST” has been sold out for a long time, and nevertheless there were constant calls for resale. It’s Eddie’s best and most prestigious title, so it wouldn’t be strange if it recurred sooner. The best sound source of the 1977 tour, which was full of all that and was compensated by Source 3, was one level per family with no multiplier. Well-known performances such as Kirekire Bonzo are a series of things that you should listen to without explanation. Come and enjoy Eddie’s new best version, this title!

★The long-awaited re-press title of the definitive edition, which appeared at the end of last year and sold out in a short period of time, and the enthusiast who received a high evaluation, have arrived. This is an eddy best version that must be heard by all rock fans.

もはやZEPマニアどころか、すべてのロックにおけるオーディエンス・アルバムの入門編と呼んでも過言ではない歴史的名作“エディー”。マニアでなくともその名前を聞けばZEP1977年ライブ最大の名演かつ名音源であることを認識している人が多いかと。LP時代にはRSRレーベルや傘下の別ブランド、BOX TOPから「LISTEN TO THIS EDDIE」の名の下にリリースされて77年アメリカ・ツアー最高の一日と激賞されましたが、CDになると“エディー”というタイトルが乱立。懐かしのシルヴァー・レアリティーズの頃はまだまだ素朴な時代で、その後はカット箇所も調べ尽された感があり、結局ジェネレーションがどれだけ低いのかということでリリースが争われるようになりました。
マイク・ミラードによって録音された伝説の極上オーディエンスは「Ten Years Gone」の演奏後半において不幸にもテープの掛け替えタイミングとなってしまい、痛恨のカットが入ってしまう。ところが今から20年前、同曲だけながらも初めて別のオーディエンス録音が発掘、つまり「ソース2」が現れました。これを補填要員とすることで「Ten Years Gone」は遂にコンプリ収録が可能となったのです。つまりここ20年ほどの“エディー”アイテムはすべてそこの補填とジェネの低さを兼ね備えていることが必須条件でした。つまり、どのアイテムも基本は同じ枠組みだったということ。

ところが2017年、遂にソース3が登場します。それが当時最速でリリースされたオーディエンス・アルバム「LISTEN TO THIS ERIK」。もちろんソース1ことミラード音源の域には及ばないクオリティだったのですが、それでも十分にオルタネイト・レコーディングとしては楽しめた見事な録音でありました。それと同時にソース2よりは音が近く、マニアからは「これを補填に使った新たなエディーを作ってもらえないだろうか」という声が高まります。そんなマニアの声に応えるべく、遂に待ち望んだ編集が敢行されたのが今回の新たなエディー。
既に2つの音源それぞれを活かした形で、なおかつそれぞれを補ったアイテムは他レーベルからリリース済。しかし誰もが求めるベストはミラード音源をメインとした編集でしょう。となれば勝負となるのは「Ten Years Gone」において、例の欠損箇所をソース3でいかに綺麗に補てんするのか…という点に尽きるのではないでしょうか。今回この期待を裏切らない、実にスムーズな仕上がりは絶対にマニアを満足させるはず。切り替わりからミラードに戻るまでの、わずか30秒にも満たない場面ですが、だからこそ抜かりなくソース3をパッチさせました。
もっとも同曲での補填は常識な訳で、今回はさらに痒い所に手の届くアジャストとして、別の2か所でもソース3を用いた補填を行いました。それが「Since I’ve Been Loving You」と「Stairway To Heaven」それぞれの終了後に生じていたカット。もちろんそれらは演奏部分ではないのですが、ここにも補てんをしたことでいよいよ伝説の名演をじっくり聞き込める状態へと仕上がったのです。

そしてエディー本体に関してはミラード音源のベスト・バージョンとの評価を受けたSold Outタイトル「THE FIRST」をベースに使用。不必要なカットがなく、それでいてもっともスッキリとしてナチュラルな音質がマニアから高い評価を受けた名盤でした。つまりベストのエディーと待望のソース3による徹底した補填作業。あるいはそれぞれの「いいとこどり」によるベスト・バージョンでもある。
そもそも「THE FIRST」は売り切れとなって久しく、それでもなお再販を求める声が絶えませんでした。何しろエディーのベストの誉れ高きタイトルです、本来ならもっと早く再発したとしてもおかしくなかった。それだけに満を持してソース3による補填を敢行した1977年ツアー最高の名音源は掛け値なしに一家に1枚レベル。あのキレキレ・ボンゾを始めとした名演は説明不要なほど聞きどころの連続。是非エディーの新たなベスト・バージョンである本タイトルでお過ごしください!



下記★の箇所は今回ソース3(Erik Bの音源)「LISTEN TO THIS ERIK」で補填した箇所です。

Disc 1 (70:29)
1. Intro★★イントロ部が最長かつ音のうねりがしないのは現時点で本盤のみ。当然ネット上にも存在しない。
2. The Song Remains The Same
3. Sick Again
4. Nobody’s Fault But Mine
5. Over The Hills And Far Away
6. Since I’ve Been Loving You ★8:35-8:45ソース3で補填
7. No Quarter

Disc 2 (52:56)
1. MC
2. Ten Years Gone ★5:05-5:28 ソース3で補填
3. The Battle Of Evermore
4. Going To California
5. Black Country Woman
6. Bron-Y-Aur Stomp
7. White Summer / Black Mountain Side
8. Kashmir

Disc 3 (74:55)
1. MC
2. Over The Top
3. Heartbreaker
4. Guitar Solo
5. Achilles Last Stand
6. Stairway To Heaven ★12:27-12:37ソース3で補填
7. Whole Lotta Love
8. Rock And Roll

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.