Eric Clapton / 461 Ocean Boulevard Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab / 1CDR

Eric Clapton / 461 Ocean Boulevard Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab / 1CDR / Non Label

Taken From The Original US Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab 24 KT Gold(UDCD 594)

Play sample :

Click Image To Enlarge

This week’s gift items include Eric Clapton as a solo artist in effect from the classic series of 24K Gold CDs released under the “Ultradisc II” brand name from the Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab. Established status and lined up the famous board “461 OCEAN BOULEVARD” released in 1974, which became the number one hit album chart number 1 in the US! The technical reason why the gold CD, which pioneered high-quality music competition in CDs in the late 80s and caused a boom among music enthusiasts, was highly appreciated, as I reported last week. This work was released in November 1993, two months after the Gold CD release of “Layla And Other Assorted Love Songs” introduced last week. Like “Layla ~”, it was produced by borrowing an American 2-track original master tape from the original polygram record (currently Universal), but it is different from the original LP if you look closely at the song You may have noticed that Originally, the second song, Give Me Strength, contains Better Make It Through Today from “THERE’S ONE IN EVERY CROWD”, which is the next work of this work. And Give Me Strength is recorded in the last. This is the same as the first CD released in the United States in 1988. In other words, this Gold CD was made from the original analog master tape of 2 tracks borrowed from Polygram in order to faithfully reproduce the bonus track, following the American First Edition CD released in 1988. The content is the same as the American first edition CD, but the sound is faithful to the original analog edition. Unlike the original analog version, some fans may feel uncomfortable with Better Make It Through Today following Motherless Children, but the gold CD for “THERE’S ONE IN EVERY CROWD” has not been released. Considering that, it can be said that only this board can listen to Better Make It Through Today with the quality of gold CD, and it can be enjoyed even in the maniac part. In terms of sound, the normal CD emphasizes the high and low ranges, and the midrange is poor, so the “Don Shari” -like impression is often said, whereas this Gold CD is “Layla ~” Like the gold CD, it has the impression that all the sound ranges are in harmony with each other. The sound of the media called “Compact Disc”, which first appeared in the world, was once misunderstood as “clear” because the treble part was sharp and resonated as if it stabbed into the ear. In contrast, this Gold CD stands out for the clearness of each instrument, the delicate sound of the vocals. In other words, this was the result of faithfully reproducing the original analog master. If you listen to this board, you will no longer be able to listen to the first regular CD. On the other hand, the master used on this board was originally the original US master tape used by Atco Records in 1974 to produce this work. Because of the great fire that occurred in 2008, most of the artists’ original American master tapes were burned down, and the American analog master tape of this “461” was also burned down, so it was no longer a US master with higher sound quality than this one. It is impossible to remaster. If you think so, I think that you can taste the sound of this board once. Please take this opportunity to experience this gold CD that is traded at a high premier price in the current used market.

今週のギフトアイテムには、先週に引き続きかつてモービル・フィデリティ・サウンド・ラボから「Ultradisc Ⅱ」のブランド名でリリースされていた24KゴールドCDの名盤シリーズより、エリック・クラプトンが事実上ソロアーティストとしてのステイタスを確立し、全米アルバムチャートナンバーワンの大ヒット作となった1974年リリースの名盤「461 OCEAN BOULEVARD」をラインナップしました!80年代末期、CDにおける高音質競争の先鞭をつけ、音楽マニア間にブームを巻き起こしたゴールドCDがなぜ高く評価されるに至ったかのテクニカルな所以は、先週お伝え致しましたとおりです。本作は、先週ご紹介しました「Layla And Other Assorted Love Songs」のゴールドCDリリースの2ヵ月後の1993年11月にリリースされました。「Layla~」同様、当時のポリグラム・レコード(現在のユニバーサル)からアメリカ盤の2トラック・オリジナルマスターテープを借り受けて限定生産されたものですが、よく曲目を見ていただくと、オリジナルLPとは異なっていることにお気づきかと思います。本来、2曲目だったGive Me Strengthの位置には本作の次作に当たる「THERE’S ONE IN EVERY CROWD」所収のBetter Make It Through Todayが収録されています。そしてGive Me Strengthはラストに収録されています。これは1988年にアメリカでリリースされた同作初回盤CDと同じなのです。つまり本ゴールドCDは、1988年にリリースされたアメリカ初回盤CDに倣い、ボーナストラックまで忠実に再現するために、ポリグラムから借り受けた2トラックのオリジナルアナログマスターテープから製作されたということです。内容はアメリカ初回盤CDと同じですが、サウンドはオリジナルアナログ盤に忠実というわけです。オリジナルアナログ盤の曲目とは異なり、Motherless Childrenに続いてBetter Make It Through Todayが聴こえてくることに違和感を覚えるファンもおられるでしょうが、「THERE’S ONE IN EVERY CROWD」のゴールドCDがリリースされていないことを考えると、Better Make It Through TodayをゴールドCDのクオリティで聴けるのは本盤だけだと言うこともでき、マニアックな部分でも楽しめるものとなっています。サウンド的には、通常CDが高音域・低音域を強調し、中音域が貧弱なため、よく言われる「ドンシャリ」的な印象になっていたのに対し、本ゴールドCDは「Layla~」のゴールドCD同様、すべての音域がバランス良く調和している印象となっています。特に初めて世に出た「コンパクトディスク」と言うメディアのサウンドは、高音部が尖っていて、耳に刺さるように響いたために、かつては「クリアだ」と誤解されたものです。それに比べ、本ゴールドCDでは楽器一つ一つ、ボーカルの繊細な響きそのもののクリアネスが際立っています。つまりこれが本来のアナログマスターを忠実に再現した結果だったというわけです。本盤を聴くと、初回盤通常CDはもう聴けないでしょう。一方、本盤で使用されたマスターも、元々は1974年に米アトコレコード社が本作を製作した際に使用したオリジナルUS盤のマスターテープだったわけですが、先週申しましたとおり、ユニバーサル社で2008年に起こった大火事により、ほとんどのアーティストのアメリカ盤オリジナルマスターテープが焼失してしまい、この「461」のアメリカ盤アナログマスターテープも焼失しましたので、もはや本盤以上の高音質でUSマスターをリマスターすることは不可能な状況になっています。そう考えますと、本盤のサウンドは一度は味わってみられてもいいのではないかと思います。現在の中古市場では高額のプレミア価格で取引されている本作のゴールドCDを、是非この機会に体験してみてください。

1. Motherless Children
2. Better Make It Through Today
3. Willie And The Hand Jive
4. Get Ready
5. I Shot The Sheriff
6. I Can’t Hold Out
7. Please Be With Me
8. Let It Grow
9. Steady Rollin’ Man
10. Mainline Florida
11. Give Me Strength

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.