Derek And The Dominos / Layla & Other Assorted Love Sessions / 3CD

Derek And The Dominos / Layla & Other Assorted Love Sessions / 3CD / Paddington Records. PADD-025/028/029

Translated text:

Complete Studio Sessions Layla & Unreleased 2nd Album.



Click Image To Enlarge

PADDINGTON label out of print title re-arrives. In addition to the outtake & session of the famous board “Lesla of Leslie”, it is a studio session of Derek and the Dominos which recorded the original version and session of the second album that became illusion.

Disk 1 records outtake & session sound source of “Layla of Love” along the order of songs of album. “I Looked Away” of 2 take recording seems to have not been completely determined vocals, it is quite rough singing. Others “Bell Bottom Blues” and “Keep On Growing” backing track, “Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out” contains two take of the backing track and another vocal version, “Why Does Love GotTo Be So Sad “has become a version that can fully enjoy the vocal approaching the demonic in conjunction with the closed-room recording situation at the studio. Also, the mono / version recorded from the original test · press · acetate of the same song is borrowed from a master from the WT label. In addition, it is the only remaining outtake of “Have You Ever Loved A Woman” which is redoing intro’s guitar, and famous piece “Layla”. Vocal is a double track and another unusual thing called version. Somewhat relaxed singing songwriting is a wonderful thing as good as releasing versions, and it is an outtake you want to listen to.

Disk 2 records the second phantom album that came into the store as an original version recorded along the song order found by the session record. Opening the curtain with a gentle “Moody Jam” as the title, “Jim’s Song” and “Evil” of acoustic reverberation are hard numbers of the guitar which draws the flow of the first. It is a song whose Dominos likeness is being demonstrated in the fruit which puts a break and sandwiches vocals. “Snake Lake Blues” “Mean Old Frisco” is a song that brings out a tropical tropical atmosphere while having completely different music. Entirely relaxed, lazy and loose atmosphere dominates, but after listening to this, maybe you can imagine the second phantom album that should have been released in a form similar to this .

Finally, Disk 3 is an outtake of this second album and a session sound source. In addition to other versions such as “Snake Lake Blues” and “High” recorded on the original · second album, they are famous songs such as “Is My Love” and “Devil Road” which are leaked from the album I think.

Derek And The Dominos Outtake & Session of the only album “Layla of Love”, the second phantom album in accordance with the recording of the original as it was reproduced on the original street, that outtake & session sound source, Total CD 3 Book titles of books. Permanent preservation of a beautiful picture / disk specification A tightly pressed press.


ディスク1は『いとしのレイラ』のアウトテイク&セッション音源をアルバムの曲順に沿って収録。2テイク収録の「I Looked Away」はヴォーカルがまだ完全に決まっていないようで、かなりラフな歌唱になっている。その他「Bell Bottom Blues」や「Keep On Growing」のバッキング・トラック、「Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out」はバッキング・トラックと別ヴォーカル・ヴァージョンの2テイク収録、「Why Does Love GotTo Be So Sad」はスタジオでの密室的な録音状態と相俟って鬼気迫るヴォーカルがクリアに堪能できるバージョンとなっている。また同曲のオリジナル・テスト・プレス・アセテートから収録したモノ・ヴァージョンも、WTレーベルよりマスターを借りて収録している。その他、イントロのギターが決まらずやり直しをしている「Have You Ever Loved A Woman」、そして名曲「Layla」の唯一残されているアウトテイクである。ヴォーカルがダブル・トラックでかつ別ヴァージョンという珍しいもの。いくぶんゆったりとした余裕のある歌いまわしは、リリース・ヴァージョンに勝るとも劣らない素晴らしいもので、ぜひ聴いていただきたいアウトテイクである。

ディスク2は、お蔵入りとなった幻のセカンド・アルバムを、セッション記録によって判明している曲順に沿って収録したオリジナル・ヴァージョンで収録している。タイトル通り穏やかな「Moody Jam」で幕を開け、アコースティックな響きの「Jim’s Song」、「Evil」はファーストの流れを汲むギターのハードなナンバー。ブレイクを重ねてヴォーカルを挟む実にドミノスらしさが発揮されていてる曲である。「Snake Lake Blues」「Mean Old Frisco」は全く異なる曲調ながらどちらもトロピカルな南国の雰囲気を醸しだす曲。全体的にのんびりとした気だるくルーズな雰囲気が支配しているが、これを聴いて、おそらくこれに近い形でのリリースとなったはずの幻のセカンド・アルバムに想いを馳せてみてはいかがだろうか。

そして最後、ディスク3はこのセカンド・アルバムのアウトテイクとセッション音源となっている。オリジナル・セカンド・アルバム収録の「Snake Lake Blues」、「High」などの別ヴァージョンの他、アルバムから漏れた曲「Is My Love」や「Devil Road」など、どれも捨ててはおけない名曲であると思う。


01. I Looked Away (Rough Mix Version 1)
02. I Looked Away (Rough Mix Version 2)
03. Bell Bottom Blues (Basic Track with False Start)
04. Bell Bottom Blues (Basic Track Guitar Overdub.)
05. Keep On Growing (Basic Track)
06. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out (Basic Track)
07. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out (Alternate Mix with False Start)
08. Any Day (Alternate Take)
09. Tell The Truth (Backing Jam)
10. Tell The Truth (Rough Mix)
11. Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad (Alternate Take 1)
12. Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad (Alternate Take 2 with False Start)
13. Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad (Unreleased Mono from Original Test Press Acetate)
14. Have You Ever Loved A Woman (Alternate Take)
15. Have You Ever Loved A Woman (Alternate Mater 1 Rough Mix)
16. Layla (Guitar Overdub. Out Of Tune Version)
17. Layla (From “Tom Dowd & The Language Of Music”)

01. Moody Jam
02. Jim’s Song
03. Chocolate
04. Son Of Apache
05. Evil
06. Snake Lake Blues
07. Mean Old Frisco
08. High
09. I’ve Been All Day
10. Got To Get Better In A Little While
11. One More Chance
12. It’s Hard To Find A Friend
13. Till I See You Again

01. Evil (Basic Track)
02. Snake Lake Blues (Minor Key)
03. Snake Lake Blues (Major Key)
04. Mean Old Frisco (Basic Track)
05. High (Alternate Mix)
06. Got To Get Better In A Little While (Alternate Basic Track)
07. One More Chance (Basic Track)
08. Is My Love
09. Devil Road (Rene Armando on Vocals)
10. Sick At Heart
11. Instrumental #1
12. Instrumental #2

Paddington Records. PADD-025/028/029

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.