David Bowie / Live By Request / 1CD+1DVD

David Bowie / Live By Request / 1CD+1DVD / Helden

Translated text:

Sony Studios, New York City, NY, USA June 15, 2002. Digitally Reamstered

Click Image To Enlarge

2001 is memorized as New Year ‘s terrorist attacks. It was a historical incident in which the world was changed before and after that and the concept was expanded from war to national terrorism. Endless everyday changes one day after a certain day. It will be engraved in people’s memory as a shocking event that revealed that fact. We Japanese experienced the same experiences even in the Great East Japan Earthquake. Although there is a difference between natural disaster and anthropogenic terrorism, human beings were awakened when they are living in an invisible period of tomorrow. Bowie’s album “HEATHEN” is a work made with such a future opaque era. The title means “pagan”. The creation of ‘TOY’, which was working with the intention of presenting the past in contemporary interpretation, was discontinued, and the bowie was full of consciousness that was blocked in the past and in the future. Under such circumstances, the album “HEATHEN” was produced.

Bowie has put a great deal of effort into promotion that he had a strong feeling in this “HEATHEN”, actively performed numerous events and television appearances. Immediately after release, we are doing until the live performances of all songs of each album to compare album “LOW” and “HEATHEN” (helden label “LIVE LOW”). This work is also one of the live performances as part of such promotion.

On June 15, 2002, at the Sony Studio in New York, live recording for television broadcasting in the fans was done. Despite the promotion of a new work, as the title of the program, the set list is a selection that plays the song in response to a request from the fans, with the new songs being selected as the past Bowie · Best It is an interesting place.

Live starts with “FAME”. It seems that this was not a request but the song that was scheduled from the beginning. Bowie wearing a velvet jacket will appear with a headphone type ear monitor on the stage that was decorated with “BOWIE” on the back. While being a fantastic fashion, hair style, makeup, and so on, it is a bowie that makes an image from time to time, but at this time it is standing on the stage with a really natural appearance, a smart appearance is unbearably cool. She smiles, sometimes throws a wink at the audience seat, gives instructions to the band members gesturely, and shows great performance. What’s more, the feeling of Bowie is very good, and it is clearly evident that you are enjoying the stage. For the exciting audience seats, you can see that unique face of peacock without breaking a smile from beginning to end. Each gesture of hand gestures makes me feel Bowie.

In the stage, fans of the nation and Bowie on the stage talk on the phone while talking on the phone, proceed with the preference that the bowie will respond to it. Before each request, it is fun to be excited about talking with Bowie himself, telling the memories of myself and Bowie. It seems that the selection is determined by improvisation without prior arrangements, and after finishing the conversation, it is understood that preparations are being made while turning over the score. Michael living in Minneapolis who requested “Changes”. I want to say thank you to the bowie who took care of my life through music, Bowie has a full smile when telling me like this. Betty living in Massachusetts. Betty’s request called a fan for 20 years is “China Girl”. In addition, there are fans who saw tours of Ziggy Styduast a few decades ago, enthusiastic fans across the parents and two children who give a small son to the phone entrance, stages, audience seats, and the other side of the phone and various fans The stage which became it is really wonderful.

This work is complete recording of “LIVE BY REQUEST” which was held in New York on June 15, 2002 with pro shot and sound board. Not only in the broadcast but also two songs cut “I’ve Been Waiting For You” “Cactus” is also a complete version recorded with Proshot and Soundboard. Bowie will cease its activity two years later, but it is energetic and overwhelming performance that I do not feel any sign of such signs. Permanent preservation of a beautiful picture / disk specification A tightly pressed press.


ボウイはこの『HEATHEN』に強い思い入れがあったのであろう、プロモーションにかなり力を入れており、数多くのイベントやテレビ出演などを積極的に行なった。リリース直後には、アルバム『LOW』と『HEATHEN』を対比すべく、それぞれのアルバムの全曲演奏するライブまで行なっている(heldenレーベル『LIVE LOW』)。本作もそのようなプロモーションの一環で行なわれたライブのひとつである。



ステージは、全米のファンとステージ上のボウイが電話で会話をしながら、リクエストを伝え、ボウイがそれに応えるという趣向で進行する。それぞれのリクエストの前に、ボウイ本人と会話するという事で興奮気味に自分とボウイとの想い出を語っているのが微笑ましいではないか。事前の打ち合わせなく選曲は即興で決められているらしく、会話を終えた後に楽譜をパラパラとめくりながら準備をしているのがわかる。「Changes」をリクエストしたミネアポリス在住のマイケルさん。自分の人生を音楽を通して潤してくれたボウイにありがとうと言いたい、このように伝えられるとボウイは満面の笑みを浮かべている。マサチューセッツ州在住のベティさん。20年来のファンというベティさんのリクエストは「China Girl」。その他、数十年前にジギースターダストのツアーを見たというファン、小さな息子を電話口に出す親子二代に渡る熱心なファンなど、ステージ、客席、そして電話の向こう側と、様々なファンと一体となったステージは実に素晴らしい。

本作は、この2002年6月15日ニューヨークで行なわれた「LIVE BY REQUEST」をプロショットとサウンドボードで完全収録している。のみならず放送ではカットされた2曲「I’ve Been Waiting For You」「Cactus」もプロショットとサウンドボードで収録したまさに完全版である。この2年後にボウイは活動を停止してしまうが、その予兆など一切感じさせないエネルギッシュで圧倒的なパフォーマンスである。美しいピクチャー・ディスク仕様の永久保存がっちりプレス盤。

01. Fame
02. Changes
03. China Girl
04. Slow Burn
05. Starman
06. Let’s Dance
07. Slip Away
08. Ziggy Stardust
09. “Heroes”
10. 5:15 The Angels Have Gone
11. Sound and Vision
12. Ashes to Ashes
13. I’m Afraid of Americans
14. I’ve Been Waiting For You
15. Cactus

01. Introduction
02. Fame
03. Changes
04. China Girl
05. Slow Burn
06. Starman
07. Let’s Dance
08. Slip Away
09. Ziggy Stardust
10. “Heroes”
11. 5:15 The Angels Have Gone
12. Sound and Vision
13. Ashes to Ashes
14. I’m Afraid of Americans

15. I’ve Been Waiting For You
16. Cactus

Helden. DEN-112/113

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.