David Bowie / Just Say Gnome Tacoma 1990 / 2CD

David Bowie / Just Say Gnome Tacoma 1990 / 2CD / Helden

Translated Text:

Tacoma Dome, Tacoma WA USA May 21, 1990. Digitally Remastered


Click Image To Enlarge

■ May 21, 1990 Completely recorded Tacoma performance with high sound quality.
■ Bowie’s only “You And I And George” recorded

It was in January 1990 that the Bowie catalog of 70 ‘s who was in the state of being out of print for a long time was rebuilt from Raiko. Besides not only gradually releasing three titles per month, but also rare bonus tracks were added to each title and fans of old days became crazy. In addition, he also appealed the Bowie as a musician to those who only recognized Bowie as “Let’s Dance”, “Battle Meli” and “Labyrinth” people. This was the situation in Japan over the Bowie at the beginning of the 90 ‘s.

Prior to the reoccurrence of the Bowie’s back catalog, the best board of 4 sets was entered into the LP size BOX as a trailer. In the format which seems that there was hardly anyone who was able to view and view it properly by the person who purchased in real time at the time of the 4th CDV, it is the best board of the real three-disc pair. Besides, this BOX, not just a vest but a pretty rare truck is packed as if it is still this, but rather to the mania thought that there is not the main one there, the bonus which will be released after this It was content enough to bring expectations to the truck. Because it is a demonstration track of “Space Oddity” from the first song of Disc 1, it is irresistible. Besides, “London Bye Ta Ta” of high sound quality not comparable with boot, and the cover of Springsteen “It is hard to be a saint in the city” were recorded. There were also many Bowie fans who were spoiled by the sarcasm of the same song and “Saint in the swee ~~~~~~~ Te”.

At this time Bowie was not a solo artist but a member of the band Tin Machine. For Bowie, there is an intention to put on the activity of Tin Machine from now on, and at the same time as the timing when the past album recurs, fortunately, I decide to do a so-called “funeral tour”. Although the “funeral tour” is not an official name, of course, this tour will be the last to bury past songs and not to play at all on the stage, then we will ask for fans from the fans and decide the set list according to that request It was announced. Of course, I think that there were no fans who believed Bowie’s words that past songs will not be played on the stage (laugh), they did not release new albums and new songs (only remixed as “Fame 90”), simply replayed the old catalog The tour was announced for the purpose of doing. According to the interview at the time, there is a word saying “It is good for artists to always do new things without relying on old hit songs at all times.” The name of the tour was taken as SOUND + VISION TOUR as the aforementioned BOX was entitled “SOUND + VIDION”.

In the will of Bowie himself later revealed, “It is only necessary to leave the work without funeral”, but SOUND + VISION TOUR burying his past songs is really magnificent beyond 100 performances It was a funeral. The band members are only 5 people, the stage is calmly based on black as a whole, and the screen was projected on the back when speaking of the directing, it would not have been conscious of the funeral, Contrary to the flashy and theatrical stage of the glass spider tour, it was a simple and focused stage on singing and performing.

This work, from its SOUND + VISION TOUR, fully recorded the Tacoma performance in Washington State on May 21, 1990. The set list is typical of this year, which starts with a nostalgic “joyous song” with “space auditi” and ends with “rock and roll suicide”. It is recorded at a short distance that does not feel the venue is a dome and it is very high quality sound.

And the main feature of this work is that it is playing “You And I And George”. Currently it seems that it is generally classified as traditional, but the original song is a song composed by Red Kelly who was playing bass in the band of Jazz pianist Stan Kenton. It is short in the 1959 live album called “Kenton Live from the Las Vegas Tropicana” and the same song is recorded. I’m not sure how I came to play this song, but after the intense performance of “Jean Ginny”, Bowie has spoken to the audience quite a while.

“Do you like jazz? Stan Kenton’s 60’s album · · · Live from from Nantoca album · · · I do not know everyone’s name, but for now I will sing for saying” you “.

Later and before, Bowie sang this song “You And I And George” only once on this day. There must have been something attributable to mind. You will hear the quiet performance that the bowie sings singingly the famous piece of jazz. It really is a loving singing song that makes me feel like hugging.

1990 May 21 Completely recorded Tacoma performance with high sound quality. It is a special show singing “You And I And George” which is the only record played by Bowie as well as only live · take. Permanent preservation of a beautiful picture / disk specification A tightly pressed press.

■ボウイ史上唯一の「You And I And George」を収録


ボウイのバック・カタログ再発に先立ち、予告編としてLPサイズのBOXに入った4枚組のベスト盤がリリースされた。4枚目がCDVという、当時リアルタイムで購入した人できちんと視聴出来た人はほとんどいなかったのではないかと思えるフォーマットで、実質3枚組のベスト盤である。しかもこのBOX、単なるベストではなく、かなりレアなトラックがこれでもかというくらいに詰め込まれており、むしろマニアにはそちらの方がメインではないのかと思ったくらいで、この後リリースされるボーナス・トラックに期待を持たせるには充分な内容であった。なにせディスク1の1曲目から「Space Oddity」のデモ・トラックというからたまらない。その他、ブートとは比較にならないくらい高音質の「London Bye Ta Ta」、なんとスプリングスティーンのカバー「都会で聖者になるのはたいへんだ」までが収録されていたのである。同曲の裏声と「セイント・イン・ザ・スィ~~~~~~~ティ」のタメ具合に萌えたボウイ・ファンも多かったのではないだろうか。

この時ボウイはソロ・アーティストではなくティン・マシーンというバンドの一員として活動していた。ボウイにとっては今後ティン・マシーンの活動に軸足を置きたいという意向があり、またちょうど過去のアルバムが再発するというタイミング、これ幸いと、いわゆる「葬式ツアー」を行なう事を決意する。「葬式ツアー」はもちろん正式名称ではないが、このツアーを最後に過去の曲は葬り、今後一切ステージで演奏しない、ついてはファンからリクエストを募る、そのリクエストに沿ってセットリストを決めるということが併せて発表されたのである。もちろん過去の曲はもうステージで演奏しないというボウイの言葉を信じたファンはいなかったと思うが(笑)、ニューアルバムも新曲もリリースせず(「Fame 90」というリミックスのみ)、単に古いカタログを再演するという目的でツアーが発表になったのである。当時のインタビューによれば「古いヒット曲にもう頼ることなく、常に新しいことを行なっていくことが、アーティストとして良いことである」との言葉が残されている。ツアーの名称は前述のBOXが「SOUND + VIDION」と題されていたのに合わせ、SOUND + VISION TOURとされた。

後に明らかになったボウイ自身の遺言では、「葬儀は行なわず作品だけが残れば良い」とのことであったが、自分の過去の曲を葬るSOUND + VISION TOURは100公演を超える実に盛大な葬儀となった。バンド・メンバーは5人のみ、ステージも全体的に黒を基調とした落ち着いたもので、演出といえばバックにスクリーンが投影されたくらいで、まさか葬儀を意識したものではないだろうが、前回のグラススパイダー・ツアーの派手で演劇的なステージとは対照的な、シンプルかつ歌と演奏に集中したステージであった。

本作は、そのSOUND+VISION TOURから、1990年5月21日ワシントン州タコマ公演を完全収録している。セットリストは懐かしい「歓喜の歌」から「スペース・オディティ」で開幕し、「ロックンロールの自殺者」で終わる、この年の典型的なものである。会場がドームである事を感じさせない近距離で録音されており非常に高音質なものである。

そして本作の最大の特長は「You And I And George」を演奏している点であろう。現在では一般的にトラディショナルに分類されているようだが、原曲はジャズ・ピアニストのスタン・ケントンのバンドでベースを弾いていたレッド・ケリーが作曲した曲である。『Kenton Live from the Las Vegas Tropicana』という1959年のライヴ・アルバムに短いながら同曲が収録されている。どういう経緯でこの曲を演奏するに至ったか定かではないが、「ジーン・ジニー」の激しい演奏後に、ボウイがかなり長く聴衆に語り掛けている。

「みんなジャズは好きかい? スタン・ケントンの60年代のアルバム・・・Live fromナントカというアルバムから・・・みんなの名前はわからないけど、ここではとりあえず『君(you)』ということで歌おうか。」

後にも先にも、この曲「You And I And George」をボウイが歌ったのはこの日の一度きり。何か心に帰するものがあったのだろう。ジャズの名曲をボウイがしっとりと歌い上げる静かなパフォーマンスに聞きほれてしまうだろう。 本当に抱きしめたくなるくらい切なく、愛情あふるる歌唱である。

1990年5月21日タコマ公演を高音質で完全収録。唯一のライヴ・テイクのみならず、ボウイが演奏した唯一の記録である「You And I And George」を歌っている特別な公演である。美しいピクチャー・ディスク仕様の永久保存がっちりプレス盤。


01. Ode To Joy
02. Space Oddity
03. Changes
04. TVC 15
05. Rebel Rebel
06. Be My Wife
07. Ashes To Ashes
08. Starman
09. Fashion
10. Life On Mars?
11. Blue Jean
12. Let’s Dance
13. Stay
14. Band Introduction
15. China Girl
16. Sound And Vision

01. Ziggy Stardust
02. Station To Station
03. Young Americans
04. Suffragette City
05. Fame
06. “Heroes”
07. Pretty Pink Rose
08. The Jean Genie
09. You And I And George
10. Panic In Detroit
11. Modern Love
12. Rock’n’Roll Suicide

Helden. DEN-099/100

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.