Beatles / Empire Stadium Vancouver 1964 Two Alternate Sources / 1CD With OBI Strip

Beatles / Empire Stadium Vancouver 1964 Two Alternate Sources / 1CD With OBI Strip / Valkyrie

Translated text:

Empire Stadium Vancouver Canada August 22, 1964. Digitally Remastered


Click Image To Enlarge

In February 1964 Epstein ‘s strategy was taken to suppress the exposure and raise the feeling of hunger for the fan by only two performances and television appearances, which is the only time in February 1964. And in the summer nationwide tour which will be the second visit to the United States, in contrast to that, I spent a live time almost every day from August 19th to September 20th on a daily schedule every day. This hard schedule chooses a big venue instead of reducing the number the following year, resulting in a legendary concert such as a share stadium. From the national tour of the beginning of 1964, this work has recorded August 22 Vancouver performance.

August 22, 1964 The Vancouver performance is located at the tour’s 4th performance and early stage, and it is the first concert in Canada and the Beatles should also show the place where the Beatles entered. It is speculated that there was an intention to keep the sound source in this way as well as the first Canadian domestic concert and the local radio station as a record.

While the moderator at the beginning talks about the notes during the concert, the audience seems to be listening carefully, but the introduction to the “Beatles!” And high screams will fill the venue. Like in the United States, Canada also said that the popularity of the Beatles was boiling. The show opens with a dense “Twist And Shout” that does not make you feel tired with the early stages of the tour. Paul seems to be enjoying this nationwide performance as well as it feels like the enthusiasm that you must succeed anyway. For Paul’s chorus or singing, it seems like a certain kind of sharpness against John’s vocal which makes me feel a little nervous. The singing out of “All My Loving” should be a low voice, but it is expressing it that it has turned upward in this way. “Things We Said Today” is a masterpiece, lyrics are sneaking away from the head of Paul, and it is interesting that it is becoming a lyrics of a lyrics while thinking on the spot. I can see that he was laughing and squirting while singing whether he was also funny. “The next song is” Hard Days Night “! “As John announced, and then began with Jang, scenes where moderators pay attention to the audience are recorded.

What is mysterious here is that “I want to hug” is not played. It is the most famous song of the Beatles at the time that won the number 1 in the United States, and it was a song that became a pillar of advance to the United States. In the second half of the concert, it is played between “Falling in love” and “Boys”, but it is not included in the sound source of this Vancouver performance. Although there is no trace of cutting in the middle, it is hard to think, but not only on this day but early in the tour on this day, I wonder if “I want to hug” actually did not play. It is not a “record if you want to listen to”, but is it a strategy to urge record purchase without playing it on purpose, is it too much puncture? Either way, it seems that I did not play on this day because I wanted to embrace “I want to hug” also in another sound source as described later.

This work is recording the Vancouver performance of August 22, 1964 in two kinds of sources. The first half was a famous sound source since ancient and was famous for analogs that are posted on the top of the band. This work is not an analog dropout, but it is recorded from the tape source. Added pitch adjustment to the original tape source, using the best possible master. Omoto is the same as that used for the set of “Mr. Claudel label” FIRST NORTH AMERICAN TOUR “(3CD + 2 DVD), but this time with a remaster and a fine modification are newly applied. In the second half, the audience sauce of this Vancouver performance is also included. Even though it was an audience source, it was not recorded by an amateur from the audience seat but by a staff member of a radio station telling the state of the day. An announcement etc. that conveys the pattern of the concert in the middle will be entered, but it is very valuable as a separate source of the performance. Even so, I said that it was a radio report and recorded the concert fully, probably this staff did not do the job, he saw the concert, he probably kept turning the tape.

From the national tour of the beginning of 1964 August 22 Vancouver performance recorded by the local radio station recorded original version with tape · source. We also announced an audience sound source that reports live broadcasts of concerts and reports. Both are decision boards of the same performance recorded with the latest remastered sound source with fine modifications. Permanent preservation of a beautiful picture / disk specification A tightly pressed press. Japanese style attaching.



冒頭で司会者がコンサート中の注意事項などを述べている間、聴衆は清聴しているようであるが、「ビートルズ!」と高らかに紹介するや絶叫が会場内を埋める。アメリカ国内同様、カナダでもビートルズの人気が沸騰していた事実が伺えるというものだ。ツアー序盤とあって疲れを感じさせない密度の濃い「Twist And Shout」でショウは開幕する。ポールはこの全米公演を思いきり楽しんでいるようでもあり、何としてでも成功させねばならないという意気込みが感じられる。幾分緊張を感じさせるジョンのボーカルに対し、ポールのコーラスないし歌唱はある種のキレた様子が伺えるのである。「All My Loving」の歌い出しは低い声であるはずが、ここでは上ずった前のめりなものとなっているのがそれを表している。「Things We Said Today」が傑作で、ポールの頭から歌詞がすっ飛んでしまい、まるでその場で考えながらか、メチャクチャな歌詞となっているのが面白い。自分でもおかしかったのか、歌っている途中で笑って噴き出しているのがわかる。『次の曲は「ハードデイズナイト」!』とジョンがアナウンスし、その後ジャ~ンと始まるところ、押し寄せた観客を司会者が注意をする場面が収録されている。


本作は、この1964年8月22日バンクーバー公演を2種類のソースで収録している。前半が古くから有名な音源で、帯上部に掲載されているアナログで有名なものであった。本作はそのアナログ落としではなく、テープソースより収録している。元のテープソースにピッチ調整を加え、現在考え得る最良のマスターを使用している。大元はMクローデル・レーベルの『FIRST NORTH AMERICAN TOUR』(3CD+2DVD)のセットに使用されたものと同じであるが、今回新たにリマスターと微細な修正が施されている。さらに後半は、このバンクーバー公演のオーディエンスソースも同時収録。オーディエンスソースとはいえ、客席から素人が録音したものではなく、当日の様子を伝えるラジオ局のスタッフが録音したものである。途中でコンサートの模様を伝えるアナウンスなどが入るが、同公演の別ソースとして非常に貴重なものである。それにしても、ラジオレポートと言いつつコンサートをフルに収録している点、きっとこのスタッフも仕事をしないでコンサートに見入り、テープを回しっぱなしにしていたのだろう。


01. Introduction
02. Twist And Shout
03. You Can’t Do That
04. All My Loving
05. She Loves You
06. Things We Said Today
07. Roll Over Beethoven
08. Can’t Buy Me Love
09. If I Fell
10. Boys
11. A Hard Day’s Night
12. Long Tall Sally

13. Introduction
14. Twist And Shout
15. You Can’t Do That
16. All My Loving
17. She Loves You
18. Things We Said Today
19. Roll Over Beethoven
20. Can’t Buy Me Love
21. If I Fell
22. Boys
23. A Hard Day’s Night
24. Long Tall Sally
25. Radio Report Outroduction

Valkyrie. VAL-020

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.