Beatles / A Hard Days Night 2022 Stereo Remix / 1CD

Beatles / A Hard Days Night 2022 Stereo Remix / 1CD / Non Label

A Hard Days Night 2022 Stereo Remix

Click Image To Enlarge

A different interpretation from the former Lord Reith, and a remix of the Beatles’ early two albums by Prof. Stoned, whose outstanding sound quality has caused a great response among maniacs, “PLEASE PLEASE ME 2022 STEREO REMIX” and ” The two albums following “WITH THE BEATLES 2022 STEREO REMIX” will also be released on limited press CDs. The fresh finish will surprise maniacs again this time.
First of all, “A HARD DAY’S NIGHT”, but from this album, it switched to a recording that introduced a 4-track recorder entirely, and a stereo image in which vocals and performances were divided into left and right, as seen in the first two albums. Farewell from. On the contrary, in this album, instead of placing the vocals in the center, each performance is clearly distributed to the left and right, which gives the impression that it is rather an old-fashioned image now.
Lord Reith tried to thoroughly improve it with “A HARD DAY’S NIGHT: STEREO REMIX REVISED EDITION” etc., intentionally placing the rhythm section and some instruments in the center to create a new image. I was there.

The concept of placing the rhythm section in the center, which was somewhat pushed to the left in the mix of the original album by Prof. Stoned, is similar, but the finish that showed a more natural movement to the center is 2022. It makes you realize the evolution of technology over the years. On the other hand, I didn’t try to tweak the positions of the other instruments more than necessary, and instead reversed everything left and right to create the basic image of the new mix. This is probably because Prof. Stoned did not like the localization of the original mix.
“You Can’t Do That” barely retains the original position, and the left and right sides of the other songs are reversed. Conversely, Prof. Stoned’s good taste shines in creating an image that is different from the original, even if it is not as detailed as the Lord Reith version. For example, Lord Reith’s version of “And I Love Her” had a bold attempt to move Ringo’s banging bongos to the center, but this time there is no such dramatic rearrangement.
As you can see from this, the finish of the mix is ​​very different between the Prof. Stoned version and the Lord Reith version, and in that respect “A HARD DAY’S NIGHT: STEREO REMIX REVISED EDITION” also fades in value as a separate mix by fans. The result was nothing.

Rather, it seems that what Prof. Stoned was aiming for in this remix was, without a doubt, a “sophisticated yet natural finish”. Suppress the extreme degree of separation of the performance that was in the original mix, and then place the rhythm section in the middle. And the finish of the natural and thick sound that caused a big reaction in the last two remixes. This version has been reborn into a new and attractive mix by combining these two.
It’s not just the album itself, but the sound sources that were not included in the album at the same time that were recorded as bonuses. These were also now an extreme stereo mix of separation that makes you feel the times, but even there, by placing the rhythm section in the middle and naturally, it suddenly changed to a sophisticated balance. . Among them, “Long Tall Sally” etc. will be surprised by the sophisticated finish. Will it surpass even the 2009 remaster there? A texture that combines the wonderful power and thickness unique to Prof. Stoned. It’s a stunning finish that won’t get tired of this time!

かつてのLord Reithとはまた違った解釈、なおかつ抜群の音の良さがマニアの間で大反響を巻き起こしているProf. Stonedによるビートルズ初期二枚のアルバムのリミックス「PLEASE PLEASE ME 2022 STEREO REMIX」と「WITH THE BEATLES 2022 STEREO REMIX」に続く二枚のアルバムも限定プレスCDでのリリースが実現。今回もまた新鮮な仕上がりがマニアを驚かせてくれます。
まず「A HARD DAY’S NIGHT」ですが、このアルバムから全面的に4トラック・レコーダーを導入したレコーディングへと切り替わり、初期二枚のアルバムに見られたようなボーカルと演奏が左右に分かれたステレオ・イメージから決別。逆にこのアルバムはボーカルをセンターに置いた代わりに各演奏が左右にくっきりと振り分けられており、それが今となってはむしろ古臭いイメージに映る印象。
そこをLord Reithは「A HARD DAY’S NIGHT: STEREO REMIX REVISED EDITION」などで徹底的に改善させようとし、リズム隊やいくつかの楽器を意図的にセンターへ配置して新たなイメージを作り出そうとしていました。

Prof. Stonedも元のアルバムのミックスで何かと左に追いやられ気味だったリズム隊をセンターへ配置させたというコンセプトは似ているのですが、より自然に真ん中へと移動してみせた仕上がりが2022年のテクノロジーの進化を実感させてくれる。一方で他の楽器の位置は必要以上にいじろうとしておらず、代わりに左右をすべて反転させて新たなミックスの基本イメージとしているのが面白い。これはProf. Stonedがオリジナルのミックスの定位自体を好ましく思っていなかったゆえの処置なのでしょう。
かろうじてオリジナルの定位を保っているのは「You Can’t Do That」で、それ以外の曲は左右が逆転した状態。逆に言えばLord Reithバージョンほど細部に手を加えなくとも、これだけオリジナルと違ったイメージに仕上げてみせたProf. Stonedのセンスの良さが光る。例えば「And I Love Her」などLord Reith版ではリンゴの叩いたボンゴを真ん中に移すといった大胆な試みがあったのに対し、今回はそこまで劇的な配置換えはない。
このことからも解るように今回のProf. Stoned版とLord Reith版ではミックスの仕上がりが大きく異なっており、その点「A HARD DAY’S NIGHT: STEREO REMIX REVISED EDITION」もファンによる別ミックスとしての価値が色褪せない結果となったのです。

むしろProf. Stonedが今回のリミックスにおいて目指したのは、間違いなく「垢抜けているが自然な仕上がり」という状態だったのだと思われます。オリジナルのミックスにあった演奏の極端な分離度を抑え、その上でリズム隊を真ん中に配置する。そして前回二枚のリミックスでも大きな反響を呼んだ自然で厚みのある音の仕上がり。この二つが合わさって新たな魅力のあるミックスへと生まれ変わったのが今回のバージョン。
それはアルバム本体だけでなく、ボーナス扱いにて収録された同時期のアルバム未収録音源たち。これらもまた今となっては時代を感じさせる分離の極端なステレオ・ミックスとなっていたのですが、そこでもリズム隊を真ん中に、しかも自然に配置させることで一気に洗練されたバランスへと豹変。中でも「Long Tall Sally」などは格段に垢抜けた仕上がりとなっていて驚かされることでしょう。そこに2009年リマスターすら凌駕してしまうのでは?と思えるProf. Stonedならではの見事な迫力と厚みを兼ね備えた質感。今回も飽きのこない見事な仕上がりです!


01. A Hard Day’s Night
02. I Should Have Know Better
03. If I Fell
04. I’m Happy Just To Dance With You
05. And I Love Her
06. Tell Me Why
07. Can’t Buy Me Love
08. Any Time At All
09. I’ll Cry Instead
10. Things We Said Today
11. When I Get Home
12. You Can’t Do That
13. I’ll Be Back

14. Long Tall Sally
15. I Call Your Name
16. Slow Down
17. Matchbox


Non Label

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.